Pro Compression Review

As with all my reviews, I’m going to take a look at things through the eyes of what is the strong base of this blogs readers. That is to say I want to look at things from the perspective of that person who is relatively new to the whole running/ fitness game and most likely doing this in conjunction with a larger effort to lose some weight at the same time.

I was given the opportunity to test out and review some compression socks from Pro Compression. I’ve had them now for about 4 weeks and have gotten the chance to wear them in all the types of circumstances that I wanted to hit before I made my review. This way I know I have them a good look and real test before I report back to y’all.

First things first. What the hell are compression socks? Well, just like the name implies, they are really tight socks. If you have been to any road races, anything from marathons to local 5Ks, odds are you’ve seen them. You know the runners who are rocking the knee high socks? Those are most likely compression socks my friend. They are not just a way to look cool. (Even though most times they do)

So why would you want to wear really tight sock all the way up to your knee? Especially when you are trying to run? The logic is that the compression in the socks (they also come as “sleeves”, by the way, which are the socks without the feet) contracts the muscles and forces increased blood flow throughout your legs, both during exercise and recovery. Huh? What all that really means to you is that A) if you wear them, when you run, it will take you longer for your legs to get tired/sore, and B) if you wear them (or continue to wear them) after you run it will help prevent soreness the following day. And I love the idea of that, because anything that makes me less sore I am a huge fan of. The official description from, the website (www.procompression.com ) is: Experience maximum benefit with our full-length, graduated compression sock. Compression technology helps improve blood flow resulting in higher performance and faster recovery. So yeah, basically what I just said.

I was provided a pair of full socks, which was my preference, and to make things even better, they came in this In-Your-Face, Badass Mofo Orange color. Orange is my favorite color, and I a huge fan of standing out in the crowd a bit, so these were perfect in that regard.

First reactions, I love the appearance. Whoa Orange. And because I’m a dork, as soon as they got here I tried them on immediately and wore them for the rest of the day, (a rest day) just because. They are tight, as the name would imply, but not so much where if feels like you are cutting off circulation or anything. More of a good supportive tight, if that makes any sense. And after the initial few minutes of wearing them, I actually forgot I had them on.

I have now worn them on a handful of treadmill 5Ks, 3 Outdoor 5Ks, and 2 longer runs (10Ks). I’ve worn them while I was running on the shorter runs and both during the run as well as after the longer runs.

So the real question is: Ok, they look cool and are comfortable, but do they work? I am saying yes. After the longer runs I can usually feel it in my calves and knees the next day, especially when I am really pushing it, but the combo of wearing the socks during and after the run have helped to lessen the soreness noticeably.

I have heard other brands of compression socks get kind of a bad rap about having various problems, so truth be told I went into this one with one eyebrow raised. Was not sure if I was opening up a can of problems that I really didn’t want to or if they would live up to the promise of better performance and improved recovery. I am happy to say that for real, the Pro Compression socks do the job and do it damn well.

So here’s the deal. These things are a specialty item, and priced as such. A pair of their Marathon Socks will set you back 50 bucks, but Pro Compression does seem to run specials and sales on a routine basis, so if that is a little too rich for your blood, just bide your time and odds are they will go on sale at some time in the future. I would definitely recommend picking a pair, especially if you are planning on progressing into longer runs because, like I said before anything the helps me have less pain I am a huge fan of. And plus, looking at the shorter runs: even if it’s nothing more than a mental thing, I’ll take any edge I can get.

Here’s a few pics so you can see what I’m talking about.

Also please check out their website HERE, follow them on Twitter HERE, and their Facebook Page HERE. (This also a great way to get the heads up when sales are going on, by the way

Hope this helps.

Till next time, have a good one
Andy

20130328-062938.jpg

20130328-063000.jpg

20130328-063014.jpg

20130328-063035.jpg

 ______________________________________________________

I am approaching this review from my standard viewpoint of what I believe the core interest of this blog really gets at: that is to say I am presenting my review by looking at this product from the perspective of a person who is relatively new to the running world, has some weight to lose and wants go about losing the weight by starting to incorporate a more active lifestyle and want to know how sift through the volumes of available gear/ equipment out there.

One of the great benefits to running a blog like this one is that it puts me in a position from time to time to receive various products to use and review for you. Oftentimes, these items are provided to me free of charge. This is the only type of compensation I have ever received, and my acceptance of these items in no way constitutes any obligation to provide an unwarranted positive review. My opinions on the products are unfiltered and 100% my own.

**This product was provided to me free of charge, but again, this does not influence my review or views on the product in any way**

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

4 responses to “Pro Compression Review

  1. Oh yeah, love my Pro Compression sleeves. I’ve just ordered some socks as well. You turned me on to these when I won a pair in your virtual 5K. now I can’t stop buying them!

  2. I love my pro compression socks. I have 5 pairs 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pro Compression Ambassador | Running My Ass Off

  4. Pingback: Pro Compression Trainer Low sock review, Discount Code, and Giveaway! | Running My Ass Off

Leave a comment