The Abrupt End To The Triathlon Chronicles

I am again delinquent and my triathlon training updates. This time though, for very good reason.

Unfortunately, this will be the last of my triathlon chronicle postings. Just shy of two weeks ago, on Mother’s Day actually, I started out with what I thought was indigestion or stomach pains and end up in the hospital having my gallbladder removed by means of emergency surgery.

Long story short, I will be fine but am saddled with dr.’s orders of absolutely no activity for at least 4 to 6 weeks. I can’t even pick up anything heavier than a gallon of milk (which includes both of my children by the way… Let me tell you how much THAT sucks) and in addition to the suck fest that that is, the timing is also absolutely horrendous. I am sentenced to the couch right when I’m supposed to be in the final stages of training for my first triathlon, and carrying over into the maintenance/based building phases of training for my second. So with the words “wow, that’s a lot of gallstones” I saw two races get scratched from my calendar, just like that. It’s okay, I’m kind of at a crossroads right now anyway and reevaluating my schedule as a whole. So in a way, this is well-timed, but the abrupt nature and “totally out of my control” way that things went down kind of make it a tough pill to swallow.

20140523-160551-57951739.jpg

So as I said in the beginning of this posting, unfortunately this is the end of the triathlon chronicles… At least for now.

I continue to be an avid supporter of Delmo Sports, and when I do mount my triumphant return / entry into the world of triathlon there is no question in my mind it will be at one of their events.

On a related note: I am really bummed that I’m not going to get the chance to jump off the ferry.

So as always, thanks for reading and you’ll be hearing again from you soon.

The good news is that with all this forced time on my ass I will finally have a chance to kick out a few product reviews I’ve been meaning to finish off. You can be on the lookout for them in the next few days.

Until the next time, take it easy.
Andy

6 responses to “The Abrupt End To The Triathlon Chronicles

  1. As someone who just had to scratch a race that I was long looking forward to because of injury, I can sympathize.

  2. Well, I just crashed on my bike and am icing my knee and butt as I type. Not happy at all! Feel better soon!

  3. Oh Andy – I’m so sorry to hear this! It doesn’t mean you’re done forever, just on hiatus! Take care of your body, take the time to rest and know that when you do hit the road again, you’ll be better and ready, and have people cheering you on!!

  4. Had my gallbladder out in January 2013…smooth sailing. My advice is to follow your doc’s advice about rest and not try to do too much too fast. You’ll be back in training before you know it, although I’m sure it doesn’t seem that way right now. You WILL recover and you will do a race again soon.

  5. I am sorry to hear this…but maybe this is a blessing in disguise as they say….rest up and be well and I look forward to hearing about your return to training 🙂

  6. Wishing you a speedy recovery! There will always be more races, take the time to get well! It’s tough not being able to pick up your kids for sure! But I bet they can still snuggle with you while you’re stuck on the couch 🙂

Leave a Reply

