Injinji Socks 2.0 Review

Injinji has come out with a new 2.0 line of socks, and with it they have 3 new styles I want to run by you.

20121208-002348.jpg

There’s the Lightweight Line, a more Heavyweight Trail Line, and then my personal favorite, compression socks.

I was provided one pair of each to use and review for you. A low “no show” pair of “Run” lightweight socks, a crew length (ankle length) pair of more Heavyweight “Trail” socks, and then a pair of white compression socks.

So the deal with Injinji is that all they make are “performance toe socks” If you combine elite athletes and tree hugging hippies, this what you end up with. As unusual of a product as it may seem, these socks are actually very highly regarded for a myriad of reasons.

They greatly reduce in blisters for those who suffer from hot spots generated by runners whose toes rub together, since each toe has its own individual and fitted little compartment, no rubbing and no blisters. They are also very highly regarded (particularly the new lightweight line) by some in the minimalist running community due to it’s (not surprisingly…as the name implies) lightweight and minimalist feel and the ability to wear them along with the “five fingers” style shoes. I really like them personally because even though I have never really had a blister issue, they are very form fitting, exceptionally comfortable, and moisture wicking. This keeps me good throughout my runs, regardless of how long I’m going for.

The trail socks live up to their billing, they certainly are more Heavyweight. Nice thick socks. Admittedly, in terms of socks to wear while running, they are not for me. Not at all. If my doing all these product reviews has had any effect on me, it has made me pretty particular about what I do (and don’t) like. In terms of a running sock, they are too thick for me to be comfortable and the height just rubs me the wrong way too. 90% of the time I run now I wear compression socks, and those times I don’t wear the tall and tight ones I’m wearing the low ankle or no show style of socks. That being said, holy crap, these may literally be the most comfortable pair of regular socks I have put on my feet in a very long time. While I won’t wear them running, I have already worn and washed these bad boys about 3 times, because I will wear them as regular socks every chance I get. Super soft and comfortable. I really do love them. I don’t even care that the trial pair I was provided was a heather purple color. I rock them anyway. They are that comfy. So in summary for the heavyweight trail version: running: not so good. Kicking around: fantastical. *I am not a hiker or trail runner, but I would imagine that the thick and cushioned nature of these socks would be very beneficial in those environments and if I had that basis of experience, my review may have been different. But I’m a road runner. It’s what I’ve got and what I prefer, so I go with what works for me and my particular needs

Injinji Trail Heavyweight

The Lightweight no show socks kick ass. They are nice and thin, enough to give you all the friction reducing, moisture wicking and cooling features that you want from wearing running specific toe socks, but at the same time being thin enough that you can actually notice a difference in your shoes. They are thin and flexible enough that they allow your foot room to react naturally while in action. Your toes have the room to splay out when you land and then recoil as you move forward. I know that’s an awful lot of detail about something that happens in just a fraction of a second, but I have been working on my running form and as such, spending a lot of time paying close attention to my feet while I run. Looking at what part of my foot is hitting the ground first, how my feet are reacting, and how my feet are moving back on again. Sounds silly, but if this is the type of thing that it’s going to take to stop my knee from hurting/ getting injured, then that’s the deal. I’m going to be looking at the minutiae of my feet, toes, etc. But I digress: I highly recommend these socks. If I have to pick out a negative for these, it ties back to the nature of the socks themselves. Admittedly, these socks take some effort to get on. Putting on a pair of regular socks takes no effort or thought. Not so with the injinjis. They are obviously foot-specific, and take some effort to line up the toes into their respective places.

Injinji low lightweight

And now on to the highlight of the offerings for me. I am a fan of the toesocks for all the reasons above, and I am a huge fan of compression socks. The high level overview of the logic behind is that the knee high tight socks provide 2 things: increased blood flow and support. The increased blood flow is good because is (as the theory goes) it lets you use your muscles longer before getting tired, and also assists in faster recovery. So in short they help me run longer and hurt less after. And the support is particularly useful in the ankle area, keeping me running stronger while going longer. These Injinji compression socks are the best of both worlds. They are supportive and tight, but not uncomfortably so. I have worn them on multiple workouts now, and even after being totally soaked through with sweat each time and going through the wash after each use, still no signs of wear. (pilling, fraying, etc). Negatives for these I would have to cite 2: first is the same as I noted above. Lining up your toes and getting these on can be an effort, particularly when you consider the factors of the low socks that I noted above, and then compounding that with a huge socks that goes all the way up to your knee while being exceptionally stretchy and tight. The other thing I would note is that while all the low socks are relatively inexpensive, these are more in line with the rest of the compression socks on the market, selling for $50. I am a huge fan, but completely recognize that $50 is pretty spendy for a pair of socks.

injinji white compression

Overall, Injinji continues to impress and solidly keep it’s place as my some of my favorite socks to run in. they are really fantastic, and if you are looking into making a relatively inexpensive upgrade to your running gear, these are worth checking out. For total beginners, I would say to check out a pair of the low lightweight or original” weight socks. If you are running in regular old socks it’s one of the nicest and most “bang for your buck” things you can change to improve your running experience.

 ______________________________________________________

I am approaching this review from my standard viewpoint of what I believe the core interest of this blog really gets at: that is to say I am presenting my review by looking at this product from the perspective of a person who is relatively new to the running world, has some weight to lose and wants go about losing the weight by starting to incorporate a more active lifestyle and want to know how sift through the volumes of available gear/ equipment out there.

One of the great benefits to running a blog like this one is that it puts me in a position from time to time to receive various products to use and review for you. Oftentimes, these items are provided to me free of charge. This is the only type of compensation I have ever received, and my acceptance of these items in no way constitutes any obligation to provide an unwarranted positive review. My opinions on the products are unfiltered and 100% my own.

**This product was provided to me free of charge, but again, this does not influence my review or views on the product in any way**

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

 

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

Leave a Reply

