Product Review: Lock Laces

Day 3, Review 3.

Next up is an easy one, I am presenting a review on Lock Laces.

lock-laces-logo

In short, these are an upgrade for your shoes laces, made of elastic bungee type material that you custom cut to your specific fit and then lock into place with a sliding lock. And then you never tie your shoes again. Ever.

They are great for those looking for an even, consistent fit on their shoes every time out. Additionally, they guarantee that no matter how hard you run or what you are running through, the laces will not come undone. No stopping your run to bend down and tie your shoes. This is not the end of the world, but it definitely an inconvenience/ pain in the ass.

Per their website:

Made for competition, LOCK LACES™ is the only patented performance lacing system engineered to meet the demands of endurance athletes like runners, triathletes, marathoners, and walkers. Unlike other products, wearing LOCK LACES™ sustains compression across the foot increasing the amount of oxygen available to the muscles which helps endurance athletes manage fatigue.

LOCK LACES™ are a universal cut to fit design.

The LOCK is fast and easy to adjust and guarantees laces will never come undone. The unique cord tip clip protects lace ends.

These laces are very popular among the Triathlon athletes, where the function of not having to tie the shoes, just stretch the elastic and slipping them on when transitioning between legs of the race is a big time saver/ asset.

From a runner’s point of view, the fact that everything will be consistent and I don’t have to worry about my laces coming loose, whether I am on mile 2 or mile 13 is a very valuable reassurance.

In a real life, first person perspective on things, my issue has never been tying the shoes, as much as untying them. The bows have a tendency to pull through and make one Mega Knot. Which then takes me a while to work loose and get apart again. And I’m not going to lie, now that I’ve been using them for a while now, the fact that I don’t have to tie the shoes and just slip them on IS very nice. They are not super nerdy looking or anything, as a matter of fact you might actually miss the fact they are different at all if you were not looking for them. Lots of cool colors and in terms of small enhancements you can make, an inexpensive one as well. (One pair sell for $8, a pack of 3 goes for $20)

I put them in my Newtons and have had a great experience with them. I gave them a few runs to figure out how tight I liked them, cut them to size and haven’t touched them since. That was well over a month ago. They are definitely worth a look.

lock laces II Lock Laces

______________________________________________________

I am approaching this review from my standard viewpoint of what I believe the core interest of this blog really gets at: that is to say I am presenting my review by looking at this product from the perspective of a person who is relatively new to the running world, has some weight to lose and wants go about losing the weight by starting to incorporate a more active lifestyle and want to know how sift through the volumes of available gear/ equipment out there.

One of the great benefits to running a blog like this one is that it puts me in a position from time to time to receive various products to use and review for you. Oftentimes, these items are provided to me free of charge. This is the only type of compensation I have ever received, and my acceptance of these items in no way constitutes any obligation to provide an unwarranted positive review. My opinions on the products are unfiltered and 100% my own.

**This product was provided to me free of charge, but again, this does not influence my review or views on the product in any way**

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

 

Leave a Reply

