Product Review: 110% Overdrive Compression + Ice Kit

The next review I have on deck is one of the coolest products I had ever come across. It provides me the chance to combine two different aspects to my training that I have recently gotten very interested in exploring/ completely geeked out over. I am talking about the use of compression gear, compression socks in particular and the use of ice, post-workout. The product I am talking about is the Overdrive Compression + Ice Kit. It’s seriously brilliant. You can file this under the: ”Why the hell did someone not think of this before?” category of workout gear.

110-logo

Specifically, this Overdrive Compression + Ice Kit contains one pair of socks to wear while you are actually working out (and afterwards), a sleeve to slip over the socks, and some modular ice packs to slip in between the two. The idea is that you get the benefits of the compression gear during your workout and recovery, and the added benefit of ice immediately after.

I’ll break it down by each of the separate components: Socks, Sleeves, Ice Packs, & Packaging.

Socks: The socks are the standard issue compression socks. Black knee high socks that are designed to provide graduated compression to increase blood flow support to your calves and ankles, with the idea that with the compression comes increased blood flow, enhanced performance, additional stability, and when worn after working out, improved recovery. As for aesthetics, they are your basic black socks with a red and white 110% sewn into the top band of the sock, sitting right below your knee. I am biased, but I think they look badass. They are comfortably tight, if that makes sense. Not cutting off circulation tight, but enough to know they are there and feel supportive. They wear well in terms of durability, and have been through the wash several times already without any signs of breakdown or loss of compression.

Sleeves: These sleeves are where the real compression with the focus on improved recovery I mentioned in the last paragraph really comes into play. These extra stretchy sleeves are made to be slipped over top of the compression socks that you wear while you are working out. To boot, they are stretchy enough to allow the low profile modular ice packs to be slipped in between them and the socks beneath, creating an “ice bath” for your feet, calves and shins.

Ice Packs: This is pretty damn cool too. The ice packs are a series of cloth squares on a vinyl/foil backing that are small enough to allow the entire piece as a whole to be flexible, even if the individual squares are frozen. What that means in actuality is that I can take the entire sheet directly out of the freezer, wrap one around the bottom of my foot, another across the top, and still have enough to use around the back of my calf and around the front of my shin with the sleeve over top of it all holding it in place, and begin the icing process immediately after I run. I can be icing while I am driving home from the trail that I run on. It’s a multitasker’s dream come true. It also bears mentioning that the manual also advises you can microwave these ice packs sheets to be used for heat therapy as well, if that’s what you require. I have not yet had the need to utilize this yet, but it’s awesome to know that the function is there if and when I eventually need it.

Lastly, the packaging: Ok so the fact that you can freeze the ice packs and use them to ice your legs down is pretty cool, but I know you are thinking to yourself “So if I don’t carry my freezer with me to wherever it is I run, how exactly will the frozen Ice packs still be frozen by the time I drive to wherever it is I am going to run and actually run the miles on the schedule for that day? That is an excellent question, and one that 110% answers quite cleverly. The packaging of the Kit is actually an extremely thick insulated cooler envelope, which just so happens to fit the ice pack sheets perfectly and will keep them frozen for up to 6 hours. I tell you what, these guys and gals had their thinking caps on when they came up with this idea.

So the main negative I can come up with on these could possibly be the cost. But I even list this with an asterisk. The kit retails for $100. Yes, that’s steep. But I throw the asterisk in there because quite frankly, the kit is worth it. PARTICULARLY if you suffer from one of the most common running injuries out there, Plantar Fasciitis. If you suffer from it, you can understand how insanely beneficial the ability to ice your foot and lower leg immediately after running really is. If you have not yet been acquainted with Plantar Fasciitis, but I have peaked your interest in what exactly it is: first count yourself lucky, and second, check out what our friends over at Runner’s Worlds have to say about it all HERE.

Needless to say, I am a HUGE fan of this product and by extension, this company. The socks live up to their billing and deliver on their promise. I am such a big believer, in fact that I am planning on placing an order for a knee sleeve to use for my running, and not to mention a t-shirt and visor, because quite frankly, I love the look and style of the company and logo. Great stuff.

So again, I echo the same sentiment I started this review off with. This is one of the coolest products I have ever seen, and they now have a customer for life in me. Obviously, everybody is different and what I love you may hate, but you owe it to yourself to check these out, if you are in the position where you have a running injury and are working your way through it (like so many of us are).

Thanks, and as always, I hope this helps.

Andy

IMG_0259 IMG_0261 IMG_0260 IMG_0276 IMG_0273 IMG_0272 IMG_0271 IMG_0270 IMG_0269 IMG_0268 IMG_0267 IMG_0266 IMG_0264

 ______________________________________________________

I am approaching this review from my standard viewpoint of what I believe the core interest of this blog really gets at: that is to say I am presenting my review by looking at this product from the perspective of a person who is relatively new to the running world, has some weight to lose and wants go about losing the weight by starting to incorporate a more active lifestyle and want to know how sift through the volumes of available gear/ equipment out there.

One of the great benefits to running a blog like this one is that it puts me in a position from time to time to receive various products to use and review for you. Oftentimes, these items are provided to me free of charge. This is the only type of compensation I have ever received, and my acceptance of these items in no way constitutes any obligation to provide an unwarranted positive review. My opinions on the products are unfiltered and 100% my own.

**This product was provided to me free of charge, but again, this does not influence my review or views on the product in any way**

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

 

Leave a Reply

