Product Review: Flipbelt

I have talked about my affinity for athletic inclined “fanny packs” before.  Call them what you will. Try to dress them up or sport them up all you want. You’re wearing a pouch on a belt. It’s a fanny pack, dude. The sooner you get right with that fact the better off you’ll be. Stop living the lie and calling it a sport belt. Embrace the fanny pack. I use them, and I love them.

Since I have professed my love of the fanny pack, I do have to admit that I am rather particular as to which pack I will allow to reside just above my fanny. And I have been provided a new offering to use and review for you today.

FlipBeltLogoGreyLG-1024x243

The flipbelt is an unconventional product in the world of athletic storage. It’s not necessarily a pouch attached to a belt, the whole thing is the pouch, and the whole thing is the belt. It provides far and away the most storage capacity of anything I’ve ever seen and the option to keep different items in different areas to ensure that everything stays separate and organized.

So here’s the deal: the Flipbelt is a storage belt designed to be worn while you are running or working out that will hold all your stuff and not bounce while you are being active.

There are pros and cons to this product that I want to share with you now that I have had the chance to wear the belt multiple times during workouts.

First, the Pros:
As I mentioned before, this out of the box design utilizes a 360* approach to storing your stuff. In real life examples, this means that I can put some gels in the front left, my phone in the front right (nice and safely distanced from the gels), and then my keys and ID in the back. I really like this flexibility. I have this irrational fear that when I am storing extra gels in the same pocket as my phone that one of the gel packets will somehow magically rip open and ooze GU all over my iphone, rendering it completely useless. I know that there is a 1 in 1,000,000 chance of that actually happening, but it’s still somewhere my head goes. I can’t help it. This Flipbelt helps to address my irrational obsessive fear.

It does live up to the billing and doesn’t bounce. It’s nice and tight and stays where you put it. This is a big deal, because if it bounces or shifts around while you are wearing it, it becomes a huge distraction, and therefore unusable. But the flipbelt sits nice and snug and stays put. Good deal.

I got a black one, and it’s pretty neutral/ not completely “in your face”, and easily hideable.  Yes, I don’t shy away from the fact that I rock the fanny pack, but I don’t need it to be a focal point. I like the fact that I can put it on, pull my shirt over it and then just go without any real attention being called to it.

Next, the Cons:

Like most products, with the inclusion of some pluses (and usually as a direct result of them), some minuses appear as well.
First and foremost, tying into the 360* design, there is no clasp to this belt, so you have to step into it and pull it up around your waist like it’s a piece of clothing. For lack of a better explanation, the thing is basically a hollow tube of elastic fabric that you wear and squeeze your stuff inside.

This “tube” design also explains why it’s so nice and snug without the bouncing. I do have to wonder though how well it will hold up and if I will think the same 6 months from now. The elastic has held up fine thus far and there has been nothing to lead me to believe otherwise, but just due to the nature of how you have to put this on and take it off that potential wear related breakdown is on my radar.

And lastly, I would like to see a few more access points to the belt. As it stands, there are 4 slits in the center of the belt that allow you to put all your stuff into the various parts as it sits around your waist. Me being the control freak and an over planner I would like the ability to put the stuff exactly where I want it without the fear that I won’t be able to fish it back out later without a struggle.

So there it is, my take on the Flipbelt. It’s a solid product that is surprisingly well constructed. It delivers on its intended purpose and by that measure it’s definitely worth your checking out. Full disclosure it’s not my personal favorite, admittedly I still reach for the more “traditional style” belt first, but it’s really just a matter of personal preference there.

I believe you should check it out for yourself so much, in fact, that I have 2 (two!) way to hook you up and give you a chance to do just that. I am happy to say that in addition to the folks over at flipbelt providing me a belt to use and review, they are giving me a second one to give away to a reader! Not only that but if you are more of an immediate gratification type and don’t want to wait and see if you can score the free giveaway one, I also have a discount code to share with you as well that will knock 10% off the price of one…right here and now.

The discount code you can use right away, and will be good from now till Aug 1, 2013. Just use the code “RMAO” at check out and it will knock off 10% from your order. If you’d rather roll the dice and see if you can score a free one before you pay for your own, proceed to the giveaway details below:

So the giveaway will work this way: You can earn up to 4 entries. All you need to do is get social. In order to get an entry, I will need you to go to either Facebook or Twitter and start liking and following. You get one entry for liking this blog’s Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/BigAndysRunning), one for liking Flipbelt’s Facebook Page (https://www.facebook.com/flipbelt), one entry for following this blog’s Twitter page (https://twitter.com/Bigandya), and one for following Flipbelt’s Twitter account (https://twitter.com/FlipBelt). Once you have done so, you need to come back here and let me know you did this in the comments. **Its the only way I have to track it, so in order for your entry to count, you have to do the liking and following, and then make sure you come back and put it in writing in the comments.**  The winner will be chosen one week from today, on 7/10/13 @ 12:00 noon EST.

Speaking of social, please check out all of the various Flipbelt sites:

Webpage: http://www.flipbelt.com/
Blog: http://www.flipbelt.com/reviews/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/flipbelt
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/FlipBelt
YouTube Promotional Video:

…and as much as I love their marketing, most people I know are not drop dead gorgeous super cut fitness models, so to see what this thing looks like on an actual person, see the pics below.

IMG_0254 IMG_0255 IMG_0258 IMG_0252 IMG_0253

 ______________________________________________________

I am approaching this review from my standard viewpoint of what I believe the core interest of this blog really gets at: that is to say I am presenting my review by looking at this product from the perspective of a person who is relatively new to the running world, has some weight to lose and wants go about losing the weight by starting to incorporate a more active lifestyle and want to know how sift through the volumes of available gear/ equipment out there.

One of the great benefits to running a blog like this one is that it puts me in a position from time to time to receive various products to use and review for you. Oftentimes, these items are provided to me free of charge. This is the only type of compensation I have ever received, and my acceptance of these items in no way constitutes any obligation to provide an unwarranted positive review. My opinions on the products are unfiltered and 100% my own.

**This product was provided to me free of charge, but again, this does not influence my review or views on the product in any way**

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

7 responses to “Product Review: Flipbelt

  1. barely had to break a sweat on that one. I follow/like everything!

  2. Great review! I just bought one. And used it over the weekend, it held up great. All I had in it was a bottle of water (I was sans any hydration stuff) and my iPhone. Keep us posted on how yours holds up! I wonder about it stretching, eventually.

  3. Follower off all!

  4. I’ve liked your f/b RMAO page, Andy Love it, actually, and your blog as well..

  5. I liked and followed all the pages! I’ve always wanted to try a flipbelt…what a good opportunity!

  6. I love my Flipbelt. I’ve had mine more than six months, and it is the same size as it was when I got it. I put mine on over my head instead of stepping into it, though. I’m entering just because I want another one of these in a more neutral color .

    I follow you and Flipbelt on Twitter as @ilovepool and both of you on Facebook as Dani Freeman.

  7. Ohh, I have be dying to try one of these. Do you think it would hold an inhaler? Anyway, I liked and followed everything.

Leave a Reply

