Body Glide Review

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times. The core readers of this blog tend to be those people who are (or at least recently were) overweight and looking to figure out how to get into everything entailed in the (what is often completely overwhelming) world of fitness. While my next topic really effects everyone, it is especially a point of concern for those who are bigger. There’s no way to dress it up or say it tactfully, when you are bigger, things are going to rub together. For me, it is the inside of my thighs. You would think there was a brushfire going to break out down there. When I first started running, I would rub my thighs raw. It sucks, it hurts, and provides a major distraction.

Even though this topic tends to have the potential to be highly personal and consequently is not always freely talked about, I’m going to go there. I’ll say it again: When I was bigger, I would rub the inside of my thighs absolutely freaking raw. Not only even in working out, in “real life” too: if there was a day where I was walking a whole lot, it would happen then as well. Like it or not, it was part of the package deal of being that big. My legs rubbed together and I had to be ok with that and deal with any of the consequences. I am about to review a product that has helped me completely get rid of this issue, and can most likely help you too.

BodyGlideLogo

I have been provided a stick of BodyGlide to use and review for you. (check out their website Here, Facebook Here, and Twitter Here)  The concept is simple, it’s a stick of “anti-chafe balm” that looks like a stick of deodorant, and it is specifically designed to be put in places that rub together to help (just like the name implies) reduce the friction and rubbing and aid in the resulting damage . Seriously, this stuff might very well be worth it’s weight in gold. Here is the deal. You put this stuff on, and it goes on dry, but it provides a slippery surface so that when things (like my thighs) rub together, the friction that would have normally done the damage is reduced/ eliminated. It’s made to be sweat-proof, which is key since I need it to last for a pretty lengthy workout. I see immense value in this product.

The value comes not only in the workout sense, but in the everyday life sense as well. Again, whenever I had a long day of activity ahead of me (perfect example: any given summer day, it was not uncommon to find me going to a Phillies game with a group of friends, cooking out and tailgating in the parking lot for a couple hours before heading into the game. It was understood that the day after it would hurt me to walk) I knew that the very sore and sometimes really downright painful situation unfortunately was part of my reality.

Again, this is such a simple solution, but not one people like to talk about, for two reasons I can see. Both revolve around the issue of being overweight and having certain topics being “taboo” to talk about. 1) In the first person perspective, looking at it as the person who rubs (or the “rubee”, if you will), nobody likes to admit that are so heavy their thighs rub together. I know I didn’t. Because in my experience, fat people don’t sit around with other fat people and talk about being fat, they are just too busy just being themselves and living their life. And they certainly don’t sit around with little skinny people and talk about being fat and the repercussions of it, either. And 2) On the other side of the coin: from an outside perspective, not many, if anybody is comfortable talking to someone who is heavier about that type of topic either (even if it is to offer advice or recommend a product like this), as It runs the risk of being perceived as superficial, judgmental, rude, and in extremely poor taste. Plus, i know that if someone  (skinny or not) asked me something like if I was so big my thighs rubbed together, whether it was coming from a good place or not, I would tell them that I was just fine, thank you very much, not that the condition of my thighs was any of their damn business anyway.

The point here is that I am trying to address is that i have discovered that a lot of the things that have affected me most likely are affecting others as well, and if you can learn from my mistakes and discoveries; if I can introduce you to something that makes your life easier early on, it makes sense to share it. Which is how I come back to BodyGlide.

Enough waxing poetic about it. Time to stop rambling and get into the real deal review. One excerpt from the website that particularly caught my attention speaks directly to the readers of the blog. Specifically geared at the runners:

Body Glide is #1 Our proprietary formulas are unsurpassed for rubbing. They save our feet from blisters, chafing in the thighs, runner’s nipple, and painful irritation from sports bras. We need and use them in all conditions, hot and humid, cold and dry. And made with plant derived waxes instead of petroleum, oils, and powders that blow away, they stand-up for longer time and distance. More runners trust Body Glide.”

The story with the product is this: it comes in a tube looking exactly like a stick of deodorant. It’s a product that you put on any areas that rub together to reduce the friction of rubbing and help to minimize the negative effects/ resulting damage. It sounds simple, but it does one thing and does it well. Like I mentioned before, this stuff is worth its weight in gold.

I have used it now for several weeks consistently since being provided the sample, and here are my initial thoughts: 1) I love this stuff. It really makes my life easier in terms of not having to worry about the rubbing issue that has plagued me for so long. 2) It’s not noticeable when it’s on. I’m not sitting there with a nasty greasy feeling or residue left on my running shorts. 3) In terms of durability, it stays on till I wash it off. When I run I sweat a lot. A LOT. And even through all the sweating and rubbing, it just keeps working. Some soap and water in the shower takes it off, but to further this and the previous point, the first time I took a shower after running with it, I was wondering why my legs were so “slippery” where I had applied it, because I had forgotten it was on me until I noticed again when I was washing it off. 4) I run 3x a week. The stick that I have been provided has only now begun to be worn down a little, so the stick is going to last me a long time. This is not going to be a product that I have to be running out and grabbing a new one every week. Value wise, it’s giving me a lot of bang for my buck.

Depending on where you shop, you can find it ranging in price anywhere from $6-$10 for a stick. I found the $6 online at Amazon, and I saw the $10 at my local Dicks Sporting Goods. So this will not set you back a lot of money, and again, $10 for a few months of not worrying about if it’s going to hurt to walk the next day? Yes please.

I always try to look at things and point out any negatives as well, but my usual “go-to” items all seem to be negated. Price wise it’s not inaccessible. It is applicable to a wide variety of applications, and it actually delivers on its intended purpose. Even in a stretch, you could say that the Deodorant stick sized container might be too bulky to throw in your pocket and go if you are trying to keep things minimal, but they have even addressed this issue, too. In addition to the regular size, they also sell (in a pack of 3) mini sized containers of it that are made to be discreet enough to be thrown in a pocket, purse, gym bag, or whatever so that you have it without the big ol’ stick…

Body Glide is part of my regular go-to running gear, and I like it so much I wanted to share it with you. Like I said, if I knew about this earlier it would have been a HUGE help to me, especially when I was starting out and this was even more of a prevalent issue than it is today. So check it out. It’s helped me, and odds are it will help you too.

…Along the lines of sharing it with you, the kind folks over at Body Glide have been gracious enough to allow me to hook up a reader with a free stick. Actually, I get to hook up 3 lucky readers, each with a free stick. All you need to do to enter is enter a comment below letting me know why you want to win, go like their Facebook Page or follow them on Twitter, (then come back here and let me know you did so in the comments). One entry for each, so you can get a total of 3 chances at winning. I will use a random number generator to pick the winners in one week’s time. I’ll draw the lucky winners on 5/15 and have a stick sent to them absolutely free so they can try it out.

As always, thanks for reading, and I hope this helps. Till next time, take it easy.

Andy

Body Glide Stick Body Glide 3 Pack

 ______________________________________________________

I am approaching this review from my standard viewpoint of what I believe the core interest of this blog really gets at: that is to say I am presenting my review by looking at this product from the perspective of a person who is relatively new to the running world, has some weight to lose and wants go about losing the weight by starting to incorporate a more active lifestyle and want to know how sift through the volumes of available gear/ equipment out there.

One of the great benefits to running a blog like this one is that it puts me in a position from time to time to receive various products to use and review for you. Oftentimes, these items are provided to me free of charge. This is the only type of compensation I have ever received, and my acceptance of these items in no way constitutes any obligation to provide an unwarranted positive review. My opinions on the products are unfiltered and 100% my own.

**This product was provided to me free of charge, but again, this does not influence my review or views on the product in any way**

Also please note that these are the personal opinions and experiences of one individual (me) on my personal blog, and intended to be taken as such. I personally, and The Running My Ass Off Blog do not accept any liability from the purchase or use of any products reviewed on this blog.

**Sorry, just have to cover my ass here. These are unbiased reviews, intended only to help. I’m not going to try and sell you anything, nor do I want you to take my opinions as the final word on any product. Let me help you figure out what you should check out, and then check the stuff out for yourself to see if you like it.**

5 responses to “Body Glide Review

  1. JERRY SUMMERS

    JUST STARTED THE COUCH TO 5K AND COULD USE ALLTHE HELP I CAN GET..THANKS

  2. Andy, read about you on philly.com and came over to check out your blog. Will be a regular reader from now on. I want to run Broad Street with my college-age daughter next year. Congratulations, and thanks.

  3. I love body glide but have always used it in a cream form and then it looks like powder is all over my hands. I would love to try this one! Heading to there pages now to like them.

  4. Pingback: Hot Buns Run Swag | 321pounds

Leave a Reply

