2013: Feb & March Races / Life Changing Announcement!!!

I wanted to make a post about the upcoming year and what I have on the horizon.
This was initially going to be one post, but if I did that it would be so big that nobody would actually read it, so I am breaking it up.

This post will cover the Feb Race already completed, and the Upcoming March race (The Philadelphia Phillies Charities 5K). Please look for two more separate posts, one on the UCP Life Without Limits 5K in April and another on The Broad Street Run in May. I’ll also touch on why I have nothing scheduled after May with a pretty amazing announcement as well. As a matter of fact, I’ll cap this post off with that news today.

First and foremost, I am picking up right where I left off and scheduling one race a month for a while.

Feb was the Chilly Cheeks. This was the charity fundraiser for the American Cancer Society and Charity Miles that I used to earn a charity bib for the Broad Street Run in May. It was a rousing success and has officially cemented my sincere interest in fundraising for Charities. Needless to say, you will be seeing more events like this from me in the future. My run was sucky as I had a full blown sickness during the race, but I was still out there and getting after it. You can check out my race recaps for the Chilly Cheeks Here and Here.

March has me running in the Phillies 5K. I ran this race last year and loved it. (Last year’s recap is Here) It’s a 5K being run in South Philly right around (literally…you physically run around Citizen’s Bank Park and Lincoln Financial Field, The home of the Philadelphia Phillies and Eagles for those non-Philadelphia readers). It’s super flat and a lot of fun. And the fact you get some awesome Fightin’ Phils swag as well as a “cool down lap” on the field inside the Phillies stadium pretty much seals the deal for me. It’s capped at 5,000 runners and it sold out within the span of a day. Pretty awesome race, and super fun. I am looking forward to it, and I am looking to take advantage of the flat conditions to try and push for a 5K PR. Time to beat is 26:52. So I need to string together (at minimum) 3 eight and a half minute miles. It can be done, I just need to get after it and get it done. Of course I’ll be back to report all about it to you. Also please note, I will be doing my damndest to high five and get a picture with the Phanatic. Because the Phillie Phanatic is awesome. This fact is not disputable.

3.1 miles of PAIN!!!
And saving the best news for last here, I have gotten a lot of questions from friends and co-workers as to what’s the deal with the races? More specifically, why the mysterious drought on the schedule for everything past May? Well, THIS happened.

Baby

We got the amazing news right around the holidays, and could not be more excited. Our little family is expanding. There are very few things in this world that I take more seriously than the focus on running and fitness, but being a father and focused on my family is one of them, it’s the number one thing for me, actually. So needless to say, Broad Street will be my big race of the year. I will still be running after that, but it will not be training for anything, more for the sake of staying active and maintaining my sanity. Rest assured, I will still be working my ass off, but it will be more in the way of getting the house and ourselves ready for the new addition that is due later in the summer. I am so excited to share this with everybody, although don’t be surprised If I don’t bring it up all that much. I intentionally try to keep this blog weight and fitness focused. This way I don’t go too off tangent and stay focused on the core intention of things. That being said, I’m not phobic of even mentioning the important people in my life, as evidenced by the usage of actual names and not just calling Jenn “J” and Tessa “T” or something like that. So if it’s important or pertains to what I’m writing about, it’ll be in here, if not, personal stays personal and public stays public. So, May 5 is the Broad Street run and will be my last big race of the year, for damn good reason. I may still try and squeak a few more 5K’s in there after Broad Street, but we’ll see how that goes.

I’m gonna be a dad again. Jenn and Tessa were the real catalyst for me to begin all of this, and I can’t wait to experience that kind of drive, determination, and most importantly unconditional love for another member of our family. Can’t wait to see how this translates into the future for all of us together as a family.

So to sum up, The Chilly Cheeks was a huge success, I have The Phillies 5K coming up in March where I’ll be pushing for a new PR, another 5K in April for the UCP of Philadelphia (separate post coming up dedicated just to this as it is probably the most important race I’ll do all year. Most important I’ll do EVERY year, in fact), and then  one last post talking all about The Broad Street Run in May. After that, I’m done the major races for the year, because I will be busy preparing for the upcoming addition to our family. All in all, I am looking a pretty damn amazing 2013. Thanks for being along for the ride with me.

Ok, till next time where I post about the UCP Life Without Limits 5K, (which will be very shortly, potentially later today or tomorrow), take it easy.

Andy

8 responses to “2013: Feb & March Races / Life Changing Announcement!!!

  1. Congratulations and keep up the great work!!

  2. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Congratulations!!!

  4. Couldn’t be happier for you guys!!!

  5. So very excited for you and the family!

Leave a Reply

