Chilly Cheeks Review II (and pictures)

As promised, this is Recap #2 for the Chilly Cheeks.
Like I said before, the response was completely awesome, and there were so many stories to choose from, so I just took a small sampling of emails, a variety of different stories to highlight. I tried to summarize things for each of these, but in the end, it seems best to me to let their stories speak for themselves. So a quick intro to each and then the stories, in their own words… followed by a collection of pictures of Chilly Cheeks Runners!

You are all awesome. Thanks again for participating.

So without any further rambling, some of our badass runners:

How fantastic is this? Sarah up in Canada (The race is called the Chilly Cheeks, of COURSE we have some Canadians running with us) turned this into a Family Event! Such a fantastic story about getting active and setting the stage to get kids active too! I am a huge supporter of getting kids active and more healthy, because quite frankly, the only thing better -fitness wise- than losing 125 pounds and getting healthier as an adult is not having to lose 125 pounds in the first place. Rock on Sarah (and Henry and Tommy and Mia), you are awesome. Seriously.

Hi Andy!
We had a really great run as a family here in Calgary, Canada. The sun was shining and it was very warm for this time of year. We took the dog, too. I had to bribe the older boys with dinner at Five Guys to get them going, but once we were all out together, they had a great time. The three kids who ran were Henry, 13, Tommy, 12, and Mia, 9. They all finished together, and the time was 45:23. We did use charity miles, and ran for the Wounded Warrior Project. I am including a picture from our wonderful run. This is everyone in the home stretch. Thanks again for organizing this fun event. It’s hard to believe something that benefits others and is so healthy for us could also be such a fun family event that we will be talking about for years to come!!!
Sincerely,
Sarah in Calgary

FAMILY RUN
Ok, how do you not love this story? Yes, I’m a sucker for dogs, but just based on the first paragraph of this email you can’t tell me that Jackie does not sound like someone who you wouldn’t want to sit down and share a beer/coffee (whatever your thing is…) with. Just funny and good natured and happy. When you take that and couple it with the good that she is trying to put back out into the world through her new blog and twitter account, I had to share this and try to help her out to get as much exposure as I can muster. Awesome Idea and even better mantra (per her website): “We can’t change the world individually, but we can each make our own dent. Even the smallest effort will make a difference and lead to a better world”. Freaking Fantastic.

Hey Andy!
Milo and I had a great time doing the 5k! I used the CharityMiles app to also donate to the ASPCA. In addition to using the app to track my distance and time, I used my GPS watch. According to the GPS watch we did 3.12 in 1:14:14, including stopping time for doggy business, meeting new friends when we passed the dog park and a short confrontation with a wooden bear statue. This whole thing was more about walking a 5k for a good cause than getting a good time.
I also attached a few pics of Milo in his bib, and the two of us pre-walk.
This event was kinda the kick off point for a blog/twitter that’s been in the works for awhile called “Make Your Dent”; a philanthropy and community service based blog and twitter. Although the blog is still under finishing construction and nothing is posted yet (THE SITE NOW HAS CONTENT, FYI), I plan on launching the blog and making a post about the 5k this weekend. Feel free to check it out! @makeyourdent or makeyourdentblog.tumblr.com
Thank you again for organizing this event! I think it’s a really cool and different idea, and it was a lot of fun to participate in!

Thanks, Jaclyn and Milo in KY

Jackie & Milo BastardiMILO

And you want to talk about inspiration and dedication? Look no further. When this email came in I read it on my phone, and it literally stopped me in my tracks. Its stories like this that keep me grounded and keep things in perspective. Admittedly, when you lose the weight and change your body like I did I do get a lot of people commenting on it and complimenting me, but then I read something like this and I realize that what I have gone through is literally nothing at all compared to what people like Stephanie have had to overcome. We are talking the very recent past here. December. As in, 2 months ago December. I know a lot of tough people, but even they would be hard pressed to pull this off. This is the real story of determination and self improvement. And stories like this are what inspire me, tell me to keep pushing because there is always something more that can be done. (…and proof positive that a little stubbornness CAN be a good thing!)

Hi Andy!
I did my 5k this morning! My official time was 38:45. Was my 1st virtual race and actually my first 5k ever! Not the best time ever, but Ill give ya a quick background as to why today was such a huge deal for me 🙂
Running helped me lose 66 lbs after my third baby was born. I learned to LOVE it! It became a way of life for me. Well my life changed very much recently, when on December 6th at 31 years old I had a stroke. No doctor knows why. I am very healthy otherwise. I was in the hospital for 4 days, and could not walk at all right after it happened. Left the hospital with a cane & just finished up 7 weeks of physical and occupational therapy. And now things are basically back to normal. Lots of determination (and I’m maybe a little stubborn too) 😉 But anyway, today’s ‘race’ was the 1st of many for me!
Stephanie in ND

Don’t call it a comeback. All that AND this was her first 5K on top of it all!

…and continuing along the lines of a First 5K…
In addition to Stephanie, there were a bunch more people who decided to make the Chilly Cheeks their first 5K!
A few of those are:
· My good friend Shawna in PA (SO proud of you! You rocked it!)
· Krystin in NJ
· Tiffani in WA

Not to mention there were numerous PRs and so many more fantastic stories, I just had to pick a small sampling to share, otherwise this post would go on forever.

Also below, please see my collection of all the pictures submitted by the awesome runners of the Chilly Cheeks!
Runner Photo Grid

One response to “Chilly Cheeks Review II (and pictures)

  1. Pingback: 2013: Feb & March Races / Life Changing Announcement!!! | Running My Ass Off

Leave a Reply

