Down and out weekend / Optimistic! (?) / Even More Exposure

I want to preface this post with the disclaimer that I am just now surfacing from 4 solid days of stomach flu hell. It has been a horrible time that has left me feeling equal parts depleted (understatement), pathetic and miserable.
Yes, I am one of those guys who truly believes the world is ending when I get sick. I have gotten much better but this one just killed me. But this blog is not a way for me to bitch about things, so the bitching stops there. I just wanted to let you know where I was coming from.

Ok so weight. As of Friday morning at 6am, I was at 204.8. As of this morning, I am at 195.2. Yes, you read that right. I lost 10 pounds over the course of a weekend it’s only temporary, of course. I am down that much because I was also severely dehydrated and quite literally empty. I have been drinking water and Gatorade like its got the antidote somewhere in there. (Not far from the truth, actually) so I am curious to see how the weight levels overall, but I’m at the point where I know it will. I’m coming back, 205. I’ll be back soon. Miss you. Speaking of which, as a way to bring it back to focus: this entire experience has served to provide me a sneak peek at what the low 190’s look like, and to be honest, I think I’ll pass. Yes, I’ve been sick and it’s part of the deal, but I just look and feel gaunt and emaciated. At least in my head I do. So you know what? I’m good. I’ll pass on the contained push to lose more. I have been saying I was done and content with maintaining things where they were, and this has provided iron clad confirmation of that.

Needless to say, the runs have been non existent. This weeks not looking good either, because to be honest I’m typing this all as I am still laying in bed. I’m still feeling pretty damn weak and slowly on the way back. I think I’m going to error on the side of caution and lie low through the weekend and then get back after it next week. Even when I’m sick as balls I’m still trying to be optimistic. (Succeeding with the optimism today, not as much for the past few days though, ha)

Lastly, this surreal ride that I am on just keeps on truckin’. I have recently had the opportunity to sit down with a representative from Patch.com and talk about my story. She was super interested and responsive and will be releasing a story sometime this week. On top of that, I have also been offered the opportunity to be a guest writer on the Horsham Hubs website in the “Horsham gets Fit” column. Pretty cool things are happening, and I’ve said it before, but the chance to reach others and to help them in a very real way is mind blowingly awesome to me. So more to come on all this, but big things (and local things!) on the horizon. Super cool.

Ok, I’m going back to sleep. Back to work and reality tomorrow. Sickness-wise, things are slowing down and stabilizing for me. It’s about damn time.

I sincerely hope you are doing better than me right now (I certainly hope so, because I really have not set the bar too high), and hope you have a great week.

Talk to you soon, and as always, take it easy.

Andy

8 responses to “Down and out weekend / Optimistic! (?) / Even More Exposure

  1. Yikes! Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Hi Andy, congrats on your success. I saw your article in Be Well Philly and you are inspiring! I’m a Philly runner as well, and love how run-friendly this city is. Rock on!

    • Thanks Danielle! I’m a suburban boy but have been dying to get into the city more for something other than just the races themselves. Any good recommendations (outside of Kelly drive) for a good training run spot so I can give myself a change of pace from time to time?

  3. Hope you are better soon, Shawna.

  4. Glad to hear that you are starting to get back on your feet! Hope you’re able to eat normal food again soon without worrying about the after-effects!!!

Leave a Reply

