Steady Weight & Skipped Runs / “Sunday Funday” Success / Getting Ready For Oct. Races

Not much new and exciting to disclose on the weight. Still consistent, hanging right around 200-ish. It fluctuates a little bit up and down along the low single digit 200’s, but nothing extraordinary. Wish I had something more to say on the topic, but no news is good news I am thinking. More to come I’m sure but as for now, all quiet.

As for the workouts, I have been going along with them when I can, but I just feel like I have been slacking lately. I can’t fight this feeling like I have been getting a little lax in the runs. It was a hectic final push to fix up the old house and get it on the market, so a lot of my free time was spent there last week, to the direct detriment of my shorter weekly runs. And then as I was running what was supposed to be my 9 mile long run on Sunday, the skies decided to open up and start downpouring so I cut it at 6 since I was soaking wet and freezing. So my skipped short runs and then the cut short long run leaves me feeling like a lazy SOB. I have been busy as hell, mind you, but whatever: busy or not, the runs didn’t get done. I know it’s a mental thing more than anything else, but perception is reality, and especially when I’m trapped in my own head the thoughts can swirl around until I do something to remedy the situation. I have plans to get rid of this nagging feeling and head out for a good run tonight (possibly a 10K?), get a 5K (probably late night treadmill miles) in on Friday, and get back on track with my regularly scheduled 10 mile long run this weekend. I also have this month’s photo update due right around now so hopefully I can kill two birds with one stone and get that done tonight either before or after my run as well.

Time to get back on it.

As for the diet and my newly instituted “Sunday Funday”, that went well. It was surprising to me how comfortable I was not logging things in, but I think a large part of that was my not going insane with what I was eating, too. I didn’t log, but I knew that I was making reasonably responsible choices. I’m sure there are going to be days where I just go for broke and cram whatever I can get my hands on into my mouth, and I’ll cross that bridge mentally when I come to it. But as for now, so far, so good. No ogeda and no over-anxiety about what I was eating. No major damage done on the scale, either, so for real: all good. I’ll try it again this weekend and see what happens. If things continue to progress smoothly, I will try and transition into a 2 day a week absence from logging and see what happens, then possibly three, etc.

Looking forward to the next 2 weeks, I get to run what looks to be 2 fun races with 2 awesome girls in consecutive weeks. Really looking forward to my first race with my frend Rock. I feel like we have both been kind of looking past this one because we are running the Philly Half together and getting our training ready for that, but it’s time to stop and focus in on this 6.2 before we look ahead to the 13.1 again. It’s going to be a great time and a good practice run. We have both proven time and again we can handle the 10K distance, so this will be a chance to run together, get used to each other’s pace and see how we run in a race together. We ended up running in the mud run together, but a regular road race and a mud run are two completely different animals.(#1, we won’t be carrying an extra 15 pounds of mud soaked clothes, and #2, there will be no rock walls, tunnels, etc to deal with) Looking forward to it Rock, We are going to kick Bethlehem’s ass. And the second race is a week later; it’s a 5k that I get the pleasure of running a friend’s very first race with her. My friend Katie has been busting her ass to get through the Couch to 5K program and is we are going to take on her very first 3.1 in the streets of Hatboro on the 27th of this month. As someone who recently struggled with the same program, I am very proud of her because I know exactly what goes into completing it. (I also know how amazing it feels to cross that finish line for the first time and I’m glad that I can be there to support her in it) It’s going to be pretty fun.

Ok, enough for now but hopefully you will be seeing another post from me later tonight or early tomorrow morning with the photo updates.

As always, talk to you soon and until then, take it easy.

Andy

Leave a Reply

