“New Normal” / Back In The Trenches / Sunday Fundays Begin

Here we go again. Weight still hanging right around 200’s. Hoping to keep it there or actually let it creep up a bit. I’m comfortable where I’m at, and I am honestly getting less fixated on the number and more concerned with how I feel. (which is fantastic by the way, so I am not going to add stress over a number anymore….or at least try not to). I am feeling good and comfortable where I’m at, and there is no reason to freak out over a few pounds either way. That’s what I say out loud anyway. When I started all this out, I went into it with the mindset of “I am going to focus less on the number and more on getting physically fit”, so by that measure, I am doing great. I feel better and have more energy than I may have ever before. It’s hard, but I am slowly (but steadily) making progress in the effort to stop being so hyper-focused on the effort “as an effort” and more of just making it a more effortless “new normal”. This “new normal” will even include cheating. I don’t want to call it cheating per se, but I haven’t come up with a better term for it. Maybe just say that I want to be more accepting of the fact that I can actually eat some of those foods that I thought were gone forever and still be fine. I’m not saying that I can go out and get down with a pint of Ben & Jerry’s every day, but once in a while it’s actually ok. I know this sounds like common sense, but when I was in the thick of things, it felt like that kind of thing was gone forever in my mind. Not so! It’s a good feeling.

It’s a lot harder than I thought, this whole “learning how to eat and live a healthy lifestyle from scratch” thing…i’m not sure what I expected, starting over from scratch is supposed to be hard as hell, otherwise everybody would be doing it. But I got this. Getting it, anyway…

As for the workouts, well it’s safe to say that I am back in the trenches. I think I realized this on Tuesday when after work, I went out for my 8 mile run that I had to skip on Sunday. I came in the house after I was done, completely drenched and said to Jenn “yeah, it’s not raining”. Her response was “oh ok, it was pouring then?” No. It was not raining nor pouring at all. I was just that sweaty. So much so that she thought I got caught in a downpour. Gotta love it. The reason for this borderline over-share is to illustrate that even after completing the half, this is still hard work. It’s not like a switch flipped and I am now one of those effortless runners you see sprinting up hills with a smile on my face. Negative. Still a big sweaty guy breathing hard and pushing through. I’m not sure I would want it any other way. The challenge is still there and I love the fact I have to work for it. (I love it after the fact anyway, I might have a different answer if you ask me mid-workout at mile 9 or 10 of a long run). So here I am, back into the schedule of living an already hectic life and working in the runs when I can. I did 8 on Tuesday, I want to get 3 in tonight (most likely late night treadmill miles) and then 9 at some point this weekend. I already have the route mapped out; all I need is the time to get my ass out there and actually run it at this point. Back to the grind, let’s get it on. Philly Half is coming up in 44 days, so I’m back on the clock and working up to 13.1 again…

So in an effort to continue pursuing the previously mentioned “new normal” that I am trying to achieve in my life, I have made the decision to take my one day a month that I don’t log/ think about my food and turn it into one day a week. I am going to keep on keeping on like I always have, but then every Sunday I am just going to open up MyFitnessPal and close out the day immediately. No overthinking, no regrets. I honestly do believe that I will be ok. The hardcore losing is behind me, and now I can afford to make allowances that I would have considered unthinkable before. So my new “Sunday Funday” routine rolls out this weekend. Only time will tell how it works out, but the outlook is overly positive and hopeful. The logic is that I can then in time transition into 2 days a week, and then 3, etc. it’s a long term plan but I’m trying to do this smart and not screw everything up that I worked so hard for. Not that I would, but I am all about taking steps to make sure it happens the way I want it to. So I’ll let you know how it goes. Sunday Funday, here I come.

So it turns out I have a busy little October ahead of me. 2 races, an exceptionally full social calendar, selling a house, buying a new one, and 8,9,and 10 mile long runs to work into my weekends. All while working and spending as much time as humanly possible with Jenn and Tess. Should keep me moving. I am guessing that this will consequently mean that the month will fly by without me even realizing how fast it’s going. As per usual. So once again, expect to see a lot of me this month. I have the monthly picture update due next week, plus pics from both the Runner’s World 10K with Rock and then the Hatboro YMCA Skeleton Skurry 5K with Katie the following week. I also found out that my awesome co-workers and steady running partners Maureen and Lauren are running in the 5K as well. (Looks like it’s time for another update to the obligatory pre-race pic)

Ok, once again it’s time to cut myself off before I start rambling on forever here.

Definitely more to come, but I’ll save something for next time.

Talk to you next week. Till then, take it easy.

One response to ““New Normal” / Back In The Trenches / Sunday Fundays Begin

  1. This post is perfectly timed for me. In fact, I was thinking about contacting you pretty much exactly about this. Because I am still in the “thick of it”, I have felt terribly guilty on the days that I allow myself to relax. It’s been very hard enjoying food or taking it easy when I see each and every calorie as a potential downfall. It sounds like you were in a similar boat, and it makes me feel much, MUCH better to know that once I hit the target, the relaxation will come more naturally.

    Or, at the very least, will come.

    Because as much as I really do enjoy the running, and the weight loss has been a phenomenal ride, it’s hard to imagine my life changing so much that some of the things that truly give me pleasure would have to be written out forever. I think Sunday Funday is a fantastic idea and I can’t wait to how it works out for you. It will give me something to look forward to down the road.

Leave a Reply

