Last Minute Race / Phillies Game: Pluses and Minuses & Yeah, I Still Got It / Headed on Vacation

It’s been a full month since hitting goal, and while I still drifted down a little more right after I hit goal weight (while I was easing my way into the higher calories) I have been able keep things in check and maintain. 110 pounds total lost and still holding. There have been some slight fluctuations up and down, but nothing dramatic and I seem to settle right back into my 218 pound weight. Feels good to have some staying power and consistency when it comes to maintaining things. Makes me believe I can keep things up for the long run. It’s happening and I’m slowly gaining confidence.

So this week’s runs were a little unorthodox. One regular old 3-miler around the neighborhood and then the second 3-miler came in the form of an official 5K. It was actually one I planned on running anyway, tried to sign up too late and missed the cutoff. So a friend of mine Nancy from work who is much more prompt and on top of things than I am actually did sign herself up along with one of her other friends to run, and at the last-minute something came up and her friend had to cancel which left poor Nance flying solo. So I was a last-minute replacement, taking the newly vacant bib and running to make sure my buddy had someone with her as she went. This was only her second 5K ever, so she was grateful for the support. The race was on Wed, which just happened to be the hottest day of the year thus far. We were still in the 90’s at 7pm when the race started. But with Nance being more of a beginning runner (listen to me, like I’m a seasoned veteran or something) I just kept pace with her. We ran for the vast majority of it, but took a few walking breaks when she had to and finished just under 40 min with an approx 12:30/mile pace. Really respectable for a surprisingly hilly, balls hot race course. It perturbed her that we had to walk a little bit, so we have plans to come back next year and make that race our bitch. No walking, 100% run next time out. This race was great for me, I felt AWESOME the entire time. Both physically and mentally I was on top of my game that night. I got to feel what I can only assume my Uncle Mario felt when he ran along with me on my first 5K. It feels great, to know you are there to support someone else and at the same time, reinforcing that I am in a much better place than when I started a few months ago. Speaking of that, Physically, I know I could have run the whole thing straight out, and I know I could have kept up my normal pace. I would even have had a shot at pulling out a sub-30 min 5k. Mentally, I was just confident right from the start. Not cocky, more just feeling like I was able to do it and the typical 5K fears that I have had before were not there anymore. I’m guessing I’ll just reserve those fears for my 10K in August and Half marathon in August/September. Livestrong 10K and Rock & Roll Half Marathon, you still scare the shit out of me, but I’m coming straight for you.

So yesterday Jenn and I finally got to go to our first Phillies game of the season. It was fantastic; hanging out in that stadium is one of my favorite places to be during the summer and fall, and I have a few reflections on the whole experience as a few things have changed since I have last been down to root on the old Fightin’ Phils:

The first of 3: My ass fits in the seat. Holy Hell, my ass fits in the seat. So the quick backstory is that where the Phillies play, Citizens Bank Park, the seats are kind of tight.  Not terrible, but enough that if you are 300+ pounds, you know it. (much like any other stadium  seat) Especially down closer to the field they get slightly narrower. I know this for a fact based on the severity of the indents that were pressed into my saddlebag thighs whenever I left a game. Yes, my ass was so wide that I literally would have marks in my sides. It was one of those things where I would do literally everything I could to make sure I got an aisle seat, just so I could angle and spread out into the open space and not be crammed into one of those tiny little frickin seats. Anyway, guess who fits in with no problems now? Oh hell yes, that would be me and my new non-existent ass. That would be a big “Plus” on that point. The second of 3: I have lost part of my swagger. One of the huge advantages to having my old body was that I was THE guy to be with in a crowd. A sold out concert and we need to get across the standing room only floor? Ha! No problem. Where most people need to bob and weave through a sea of people, all I ever had to do was square up and walk straight. People just saw me coming and moved out of the way. It happened literally every time. Anybody who was with me just grabbed onto the back of my shirt and we just walked on through. I am sad to say I have lost my “people moving” abilities. The main concourses get pretty crowded at the stadium, and where I am used to just going wherever I want, I tried the same old thing and no dice. Apparently, I am just not as imposing looking any more. Oh well, big minus on that front, just based on the loss of one of my favorite abilities. Hey, what can you do? And last but certainly not least, the third reflection of 3: Oh yeah, I still got it. So while Jenn and I were walking around the game right after we first got there, we split up for a second with plans to meet at a central point in a few minutes. I beat her there so I got to see her come into the area and scan around for me, and as soon as she saw me she got this goofy, shit-eating grin on her face. It was one of those where you can tell it was just a natural reaction and not a conscious thing. When we met up the first thing she said to me was: “you’re really looking good Andy”. Seriously, that made me feel absolutely amazing. Now, it’s no surprise that Jenn and I are two of those irritating “lovey couples”, and it’s also no surprise that my wife finds me attractive, but to see that kind of natural reaction just makes me feel like a million bucks and just gave me that feeling like “Oh Yeah, I Still Got It”. Huge, huge plus on that one.

Ok, one more week of work/ regular runs and then it’s off to vacation in OC, NJ. One week of blah, and then I get one glorious week of hanging with Jenn and Tess, daily morning runs, relaxing days on the beach (assuming Tess likes the beach- fingers crossed),and just chilling. I will officially be off of the hardcore food logging for the week, but when I’m back, I’m back and hardcore again. But to be honest, when I’m on vacation, I’m on vacation. I’m not going to go insane and suck down a dozen donuts a day for breakfast with cheeseteaks for lunch and dinner, but I’ll be “cautiously free” and let the chips fall where they may. I can’t wait. I may still post next week, depends on the days and what we’re doing, but I will definitely have enough runs to talk about, I’m planning on running mon-fri, regular nice and easy 3-milers mon thru thurs, and then my weekly long run (10K!) on Friday. I mapped it out and if I get someone to drop me off at the end of the boardwalk on the other side of the Island, if I run back to the house I will be able to cover the 6.2 and be able to take in the boardwalk, beach, and ocean air. Seriously. Can. Not. Wait.

Ok, enough of my ramblings for now.

Have a great week, and until next time, take it easy.

3 responses to “Last Minute Race / Phillies Game: Pluses and Minuses & Yeah, I Still Got It / Headed on Vacation

  1. I just absolutely love your site, and the amount of love and dedication you have for you family. Andy just know you are moving crowds in a whole ‘nother way!! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much Joelle, i can’t even explain how much that means to me. I checked out your blog and it seems like you are off to a great start! If you ever want to chat just message me. Good Luck and hang in there!!!

  3. Wish our vacations could have matched up. I’ll be in Avalon after our race on the 15th. Cannot wait to see you!!! I am starting week 6 this week and I am determined to be ready!

Leave a Reply

