Virtual 5K / 7.21.12: Looking For People To Join Me At The Lake

Hello friends. I am writing today to talk about a topic I have previously discussed on the blog. My friend and fellow running blogger (www.runningwhilemommy.blogspot.com ) Nicole is part of a team that is training for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in October and using this experience to raise funds for the Lukemia & Lymphoma Society. Actually, I am going to plagiarize myself from an earlier post:

Ok, to the point: she, like I, has set the goal of a half marathon. Nicole has actually took the (incredibly ballsy) step of registering and is all signed up for the Nike Women’s marathon this October out in San Fran. She is doing this as part of a team. Her training, preparation, and running of the race will all aided by a group of women called TNT, short for Team In Training. This is also short for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training. The name of the team should tell you a lot about why she is running/ fundraising, but the short version of the heart wrenching story is that the team is all running in memory of one of their friend’s daughter who passed from the disease. The race is being held on what would have been her 16th birthday weekend.

So needless to say, Having a friend suffer this type of loss makes this is a charity very near and dear to Nicole’s heart.

She had been charged with some pretty aggressive fundraising goals, and even though she would never ask me, I’m taking it upon myself to throw her a bone here and see if I can’t help out a friend and a very worthwhile cause.

To this end, Nicole is organizing a virtual 5k (https://www.facebook.com/events/345393632191454/) What the hell is that, you ask? Basically, you register for the race, and on race day, you run. Whenever you want, wherever you are. I have been saying that I want to do something to help her out, and it’s time to actually step up and do something about it.

I plan on registering this week and I will be running my 3.1 miles on 7/21 at Lake Galena in Peace Valley Park. I am looking for anyone who is local to me who would be willing to join me. Regardless of fitness level. Only up to walking or walk/running? All good. There are worse ways to spend a Sat morning that hanging with friends at the lake. So the details are that the registration will cost you $20. It’s going to a great cause, and you will even get a medal for participating. Not only a medal, but a gratifying feeling of doing a little something good for you, and a little something good for someone else. If you are interested, let me know so we can set up a good time, and to register go to this page (http://pages.teamintraining.org/ri/nikesf12/nzelenak#My-Fundraising-Page), donate $20, and put “RACE” in the comments. That’s it. Let me know if you might be up for it. If nothing else it’s some time catching up and hanging out with some good peeps.

If you are up for it, come out and join me.

Talk to you all soon, and until next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

