Into The Home Stretch / Rude Awakening / New Plan and Bold Outlook

Weight: 232.2 / # of Days till Run the Gates 5M: 26 / # of Days till Mud Run: 68 /# of Days till Rock and Roll Half: 131

Into the final push for the weight loss! My weight is up ever so slightly from a few days ago, but I am in a position to do the unthinkable. I am within 7 pounds of my goal weight, and a certain date coming up soon will set a pretty cool time marker for me. On Friday, May 18th, I will officially be 6 months into my new lifestyle. There is a chance that if I stay super focused (no cheating, really making the right choices and stay focused on what I put into *and what I do not put into* my mouth) as well as get really active and working out that I have a chance to hit my goal weight by my 6 month anniversary. Challenge Accepted. 7 pounds, 10 days. It’s aggressive, but potentially do-able. Let’s get it on.

So admittedly, I have been slacking on the workouts. I have not been ignoring them altogether, but I have been letting things slide. Always with good reason, and Tess/ family matters take precedence over the gym (and always will), but the fact remains that I am behind schedule/ not where I want to be. So needless to say it’s time to shake things up and start following a new plan.

The catalyst for this (or at least the straw that broke the camels back for me) was my run last Friday. I went after work to a local park that has a ¾ mile running trail winding through it, and figured I’d get in a good 5K before heading home for dinner. I only made it 2 miles before I had to walk. What the shit is that? I can bang out 3.1 on the treadmill no problem. I did it 2 days later on Sunday. Set a new personal best, as a matter of fact. I have even gotten up into 4 and 5 mile distances on the treadmill, but I have to stop at 2 outside? Frustrating does not even begin to cover it. Yes, I know there are a lot of things that were different. Running on the gravel trail, there were some hills, I’m certain that I was running too fast, yadda yadda yadda. There are a hundred reasons I could pull out to try to explain it, but the fact remains that I covered 3.5 miles that day in the park, and had to walk more than one of those miles because I couldn’t hang. I’m not going to beat myself up over it, but I’m not going to ignore it, either. Hence, the new running plan.

I found online a 19 week running plan to prepare for a half marathon, and wouldn’t you know it, there are exactly 19 weeks between now and the Rock and Roll Half in Philly on Sun, Sept. 16 that I am registered for. I am looking at a plan that will have me running 4 times a week, consisting of 3 and 4 mile base runs during the week and a long run on the weekends. I am planning on mixing it up and combining both outside and treadmill running. At least 2 of the 4 runs are going to be outside from here on out. This way I am hoping to avoid the shock to the system that I had last week with running outside and stop being a delicate snowflake that has my ass handed to me by anything that is not a treadmill with pristine and controlled conditions.

Along with the new plan comes a mindset shift as well: up until now I have been running as a way to build up my body/ get myself into shape and primarily to burn calories. Now that I am closing in on my goal weight, it’s time to accept that I am in some basic (and I still use that term loosely) semblance of shape now and turn my attention to the next task at hand, and that is to complete the Half Marathons I am signed up for. It’s not only about burning calories, now it’s about covering the distance and completing the goals I have set for myself.

So with my change in focus, I am officially scratching my scheduled 10K on the 19th of this month. I’m just not at 6 miles yet. I’m not too proud to admit that my plan needs to be shifted. I’ll get there. I am actually scheduled to run 5 that day, so I may just make my own 10K near my house that day. There is a lake near my house that has a trail that is 6M around, so I may just run the 5 and walk the last mile to round out the 10k. I’m adding in a few other races to compensate, (2 more 5K’s) and I’m actually liking the way that things are shaping up as I look ahead into the summer.

So I’m sitting here at a crossroads and feeling hopeful. No other way to get it done than to just do it, so here we go.

One response to “Into The Home Stretch / Rude Awakening / New Plan and Bold Outlook

  1. Hey Andy. Still a magnificent job. I do agree that you need to get outside more as opposed to the treadmill controlled environment. Change in terrain and weather has a good and bad effect. Remember, all hills have a down side!!!! Follow the 19 week program and you will be fine. Call me if any questions. Uncle Mario

Leave a Reply

