Change In The Weigh-In Schedule / I’m Back, Bitches / New Clothes

Ok, for the weight I’m changing things up a little. Really only in regards to when I weigh myself. Going forward, I’m only going to do it 2x a week, as opposed to every time I work out/ post. I think 2 times a week is more than sufficient, and it will help me stop obsessing about the number. So I am sticking with the weight from when I weighed in Sunday night/ Monday morning. 268.8 and holding. New update on Friday.

As for the workouts: I’m back, bitches! Got into the gym last night and it felt really good to be back there and getting into it. Admittedly, I’ve had more bad ass days in the gym, but I was there, and that’s all the matters. I really was just feeling my way through things last night. Not only was it my first day back in 3 weeks, but It was also my first day of the new training program. A new program where Mondays are always “Stretch and Strength Training”. So what the hell does that mean? Not 100% positive yet, but I’ll find my groove. I always do. So last night I got in, and as a warm up walked for 10 min on the treadmill, then hit the circuit training. (It was the most clearly marked in terms of instructions so I at least had some semblance of feeling like I knew what the hell I was doing). Plus, I like the idea that I can get a good all around workout, hitting all my muscles and keep moving while still being able to bang it all out within a half hour. I found out last night that on Thursdays there is a class at my gym that walks you through all the stations and teaches you how to use them all correctly. (Thanks for the heads up Bo). Looks like I will be there on Thursday checking it out. After I did most of the circuit, I bailed early because I wanted to try the stationary bike as well. It went well, and I definitely worked up a good sweat. I left with the overall impression that it is all do-able, but definitely much more difficult than I anticipated. This is clearly going to help me get to where I want to be, and I’m really jazzed about that. It’s also going to be a shit ton of work, and oddly, I’m kind of jazzed about that too. At least right now I am. Talk to me a month from now and we’ll see if I’m still singing the same tune. I am 100% positive that I am going to experience soreness like I haven’t felt in a long time, because I am looking at lifting weights for the first time in a long, long time….we could actually go ahead and say “ever”. I have a little before, but never with intent and purpose like this. So here we go, back into motion, feeling my way through the new routine and looking for some positive results. First run tonight, 2.5 miles here I come. Kind of scared about tonight, I’m pretty sure that this run is going to kick me squarely in the ass, but I’m hoping I surprise myself. I’m not going to beat myself up no matter how it goes. I just need to accept my current state as where I’m at after my 3 week hiatus, and move forward from there. All good, looking forward to getting out there and here’s hoping I haven’t taken too many steps backwards in the running department. One way to find out, right?

I finally got to go out and update the wardrobe a little bit. It was less an act of vanity and more an act of necessity. I was starting to look absolutely ridiculous in my old clothes. So once I sucked it up and went out (with Jenn and Tess in tow, because she keeps me from dressing myself like a clown) I now have a bunch of new work duds and feel like a million bucks. The difference (at least in my opinion) is staggering. The fit of everything is completely different, and it’s doing amazing things for my confidence and the way I carry myself. I like it, (love it actually) but I’m still not close to being done. I am just a hair over halfway the where I want to be, and don’t want to let up till I get there. Until then, I’ll keep pushing. I have a whole new set of challenges I’m looking at, so it’s no time to let up now. The whole clothes shopping process had its ups and downs. First and foremost, I went shopping in a regular old store. No big and tall, just a regular store. Freaking awesome. It was still pretty difficult to find stuff that fit me the way I wanted it to and not look like I was stuffed sausage or wearing a wet suit, but in order to find the good, I had to sort through the bad I guess. Looking at it now, it’s an acceptable process, and as I keep getting smaller, my options will open up more and hopefully it will be more good and less bad. When I was in it though, I was insanely frustrated. I think it took me back to many years ago when I was headed in the opposite direction and when things stopped fitting from the regular store. Jenn deserves a medal or something for that afternoon, because I was one cranky mother there for a while. I remember her telling me “You’ve worked so hard for this; I just want you to enjoy it”. Looking back at it now, you were right sweetie, but it was I was just stuck in my pissy pants place. I’m sorry babe. But I came through in the end and the story ends with my having clothes that actually fit me, feeling good about myself, and having gained some perspective to help ensure I don’t go back there again.

Ok, run tonight, 30 min cross training on wed, 2 mile run and strength on thurs, and rest on fri. I’ll post again soon, until then, have a great week.

Leave a Reply

