No Loss / Going Rogue / What Happened To My Nips?

Weight: 278.4/ # of days till 5K: 12 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 271

Well, it couldn’t last forever. I lost 0.2 pounds. I’m not terribly surprised since I weighed in late this weekend and then didn’t work out until tonight, and when you throw in a night of beers and dinner out into the mix, it’s just not surprising. I don’t think I’m stalling out just yet, but you never know. All there is to do is keep going and see what happens. I feel like if I just hit it hard again this week I’ll pick right back up with the same momentum.

The run tonight went well. Run 15, walk 2, run 5. Felt good. And now that it’s done I can kiss the run/walk interval workouts goodbye. Basically what I am looking at for the rest of the time between now and the race is just slowly ramping up from running 20 min to 30 min, and then it’s go time. I think I may go rogue from the program at this point and get my ass outside and just see how far I can go. I need to get used to running outside and I’ve been mapping out some routes around my neighborhood that are 3.1M so I know how far I have to go. It’s a pretty far distance, I guess you never really get “the visual” of how far you’re going when you are staying in the same place on the treadmill all the time. I have proven to myself time and time again that I can complete the 5K in a reasonable time with a combo of running and walking, now the challenge is to see if I can run it out. I’ve worked hard up until this point, now it’s just time to finish it out strong. Looking forward to race day and even more so to moving on to the next race.

On an unrelated note, Holy Shit, my nipples hurt. I was just talking to some friends saying that I really don’t feel “like a runner”, I still feel like the same old big guy who just now happens to go to the gym a few times a week. Tonight is the first time (outside of the chafing, which honestly could be attributed to running or just fat thighs) that I have had a runner’s “issue”. I’ve heard about it, and knew it might happen, but I would seriously not have been surprised to look down and see two red streaks going down my shirt. Time to research sore nipple remedies. Never in a million years would I have imagined that a thought like that would ever run through my head.

Ok, on that note; I’m off to bed. Night. Catch you on Hump Day.

2 responses to “No Loss / Going Rogue / What Happened To My Nips?

  1. I think you are doing great! Have you run outside yet? It is a little more challenging than the treadmill so I would do the next day of the program outside and if you can do it, then go rogue. This is great weather to be running outside, I think you will enjoy it.
    Body glide is my only suggestion. I have not used it but heard it works. At an expo I saw nipple guards but that did not appeal to me as much. Good luck, you are definitely a real runner.

  2. I’m sure Jenn has some nipple cream from breast feeding that you can use.

Leave a Reply

