50 Pounds Down / Not That Bad / Day Of Milestones

20120128-124333.jpg

Weight: 278.6/ # of days till 5K: 14 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 273

Weighed in this morning and I could have jumped for joy off the scale. I have not seen the 270’s in……actually I have absolutely no idea when the last time in saw the 270’s was. Things keep moving in the right direction and even if the weight loss has slowed down a bit, it’s not stopping by any means. I’m good with the slower weight loss, just want to keep plugging away and if I can lose a little each time, then I’m good to go as far as I’m concerned.

Comparatively speaking, the run wasn’t that bad. I expected this run to be 20 full minutes of misery. But it felt more like a mental thing, just pushing myself to keep going and not stop running. I made it and I feel fantastic about it. Honestly speaking, the first 5 minutes were the toughest, between seeing that huge time on my countdown timer and knowing that I was heading into what was unquestionably my toughest workout yet; but once I settled into a groove it got a little easier. I just couldn’t go to the gym last night, so I pushed my run back to early this morning. Not surprisingly, the gym is just about empty at 6 am on a Saturday morning. Not a terrible thing, I had my choice of treadmills and just got in, went about my business, and got back out again. Not a bad way to start off a Saturday.

Speaking of not a bad Saturday, I hit 2 more milestones today. I am officially 3/4 of the way through the C25K running program. From here on out I’m looking at longer runs and working into the full 3.1 miles. Hell Yeah, bring it on. And the second milestone (and to me one of the most monumental ones to date) is that with today’s weigh in, I have officially surpassed 50 pounds lost. When I set out to lose weight and get fit, I had a few milestones in my head, a few times that would mark my progress and really mean something, like I’m really getting something accomplished here, and let me tell you, losing 50 pounds is one of those personal goals. I want to hold off on really celebrating until I lose a little more, in about 2 pounds I will be officially halfway to my goal weight, and that’s when I’ll take a breath and really pat myself on the back. Between that, spending the day with Jenn and Tess, and then getting to go out for dinner and drinks with some great friends tonight, it is a good Saturday indeed.

I hope your weekend is a great one, catch you all on Monday.

Leave a Reply

