Still Losing / Tough Run Coming / First Race Is Getting Real / Awkward But Appreciative

Weight: 281.4/ # of days till 5K: 17 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 276

The weight is getting freaky. It is really coming off faster than I thought possible. Apparently, busting my ass in the gym 3 times a week is really paying off. On average, I am burning 700 calories every time I hit the gym. (I guess having this big ass body pays some dividends, right?) When you couple that with the fact that I am walking at lunch and if I get 2 miles in at lunch, I burn another approx. 200 more. 900 calories 3 times a week ain’t half bad…I am also working very hard and being very focused on staying within my calorie limit each day.

Damn I’m closing in on halfway to my goal weight, and reasonably speaking I’m thinking I can hit it within a week or so.

The run was good. Especially with these longer timed runs, I still feel like if I let my guard down I could stop at any time. So all I have to do is stay hardcore and just keep on pushing, right? I guess… So yes, the run kicked my ass, but I had my head right going into it, so at least there’s that. I went in confident that I could do it and I made it through. Friday is 20 min straight and that should be interesting. And by interesting I mean hard and scary as hell. I feel comfortable at the 5.1 pace I’ve settled into for these longer runs, but I’m also not afraid to dial it back to 5.0 if I have to. Time will tell, I’ll let you know on friday how it went.

I am still getting used to this smaller frame. It’s like I’m looking at a weird, smaller version of myself. And don’t misunderstand me, I am by no means dealing with a “small” frame here, but definitely smaller than I was. I understand that I’ll always be in 2XL clothes, even without all the excess weight, I’m just too broad to wear anything else. To continue with the weird feeling, I am also starting to get more and more compliments at work and when I’m out, and that is also going to take some getting used to. I just kind of say “thanks, and it feels really good”, but really don’t know where to go from there. I’m guessing mainly because I still see myself as having a long way to go, I’m not even halfway to where I want to be yet, I still feel like I have to keep my head down and not really celebrate any successes yet. Although there is no denying that I look very different now. So if you mentioned something to me and I got oddly introverted, please excuse me, I’m still getting the hang of this. I really do appreciate it and I will be less awkward next time. Promise.

So my first race is coming up shortly, and I’ve always known it was coming but it’s getting really real now. I look at the countdown and the days remaining are in the teens. I’m really getting excited. Definitely nervous, but I think it’s more of the unknown than anything else. Having never done this before, it’s just the whole process of getting there and going through everything without a frame a reference. I’ve been talking about it a lot to people who have run these types of races before, and from what I hear, the feeling of finishing your first race with people there at the end cheering is without comparison. I am really looking forward to it. I’m sure it won’t be as crowded as a race during normal weather, (read, temperatures above 40 degrees) but nonetheless, it’s going to be something I never forget. I am also getting used to the idea that I will be signing up for some of these races for fun. That’s right, I said for fun. Up until this point, I’ve been signing up for these races strictly as a means to keep myself driven and motivated. Just this week, I signed up to run in the Phillies Charities 5K in late march. One of my cousins on Jenn’s side of the family, Chris and I have been talking about getting together and doing something like this for a while now. And since he is just as big (if not bigger) Phillies fan than I am, he was the first person I called to run with. Of course he was on board immediately, and now we’re both registered and ready to go. Awesome. I read about that race and actually thought, “You know, that would be really fun”. That still sounds like crazy talk to me. But I am really getting amped up for that one.

All right, happy hump day everybody. Hope the week is going well and I’ll catch you all on Friday

One response to “Still Losing / Tough Run Coming / First Race Is Getting Real / Awkward But Appreciative

Leave a Reply

