Slowly But Surely / Running Scared / Halfway There

Workout #22 (C25K Week 4, Run 3)

Weight: 294.0/ # of days till 5K: 33 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 292

Still slowly dropping the weight. Slow progress is still progress, so I like it.  I liked the big chunks of weight dropping off all at the same time, although the newer, slower rate makes me feel like A) I’m really working for it now, and B) I’m more likely to keep it off. It always scares me when too much comes off too fast, because if it’s fast to come off, it can be even faster to go right back on. At any rate, going strong on the weight loss, and feeling really good about it. Even more importantly to me, I am now seeing some big differences in the way I feel and also in the way my clothes are fitting. (down 2 holes on my belt)

As for the run, I started scared. Since tonight was ramping up the workout again, I was not sure I was ready. I had to run 6 min straight and it scared the hell out of me. To continue along with the “scared” theme, each run from here on out not only gets harder, but gets harder by a decent amount each time. Forget easing it up, want to tack on an extra minute or two each time? why not? what the hell!  Back to tonight, I made it through and although I was drenched in sweat and breathing really hard, I did it in a convincing fashion. (at least convincing for me) I got through the entire scheduled run, tacked on an extra 2 min run, and then walked it out to 3.1 miles, as usual. It’s really feeling better and better each time, despite the increased run times. I’m able to get through the 5K in a little less time each time I go at it, which makes me feel good that come race time, I’ll be able to finish the race. (which is goal #1 for the race) Now, will I be able to run the whole way? That remains to be seen but I’m going to give it my damndest to run it out.

As of tonight, I am officially halfway through the Couch to 5K running program. It’s still hard to believe that I have been on this program for over a month now. In the 12 run/walks that I have done for the C25K program, I have covered nearly 31 miles, and ran/walked for over 8 hours. That’s a freaking work day. I’m really getting into this, and seriously feeling better by the day. Physically and mentally, the changes are positive and even more positive. Looking ahead, the runs get more challenging every time out,and  I feel like I keep saying this, but it scares the crap out of me and I just have to keep up the blind faith. Whatever, no other way to find out than to just do it.

It’s Monday, and this week is looking long already. I need to get my ass to bed.

Leave a Reply

