Continued Success / This Is Really Getting Hard / Upping My Game

Workout #21 (C25K Week 4, Run 2)

Weight: 295.6/ # of days till 5K: 36 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 295

Down a few more pounds. I’m guessing that things will start to slow down a bit; I knew that the 5 pounds a week couldn’t last forever. I’m grateful for the good start I’ve had and understand I will have to work just as hard, if not harder just to maintain any semblance of the same pace I’ve set. It’s not all peaches and honey with the weight loss though. The iPhone app reduced my calories again to reflect my lower weight. It’s not really a lot of calories cut, it’s really just the principle of the matter that stings.

I made it through the run, and man was it difficult. That 5 minute really kicked my ass. I completed it, but really on sheer willpower, for me it’s one of those things where I am doing it but if I let my guard down for a second, I’ll stop. Just need to make sure that doesn’t happen: Perseverance, baby. At any rate, I completed the scheduled runs/ walks and was even able to tack on an extra 2 min run a few minutes into the cool down (once I got my breath back). As per my new self-imposed routine, I extended the cool down to last until I covered 3.1 miles. (I was at approx. 2 mi at the end of the scheduled, so I had to walk out the extra mile)

I mentioned before in a previous post that it’s time to increase my efforts a little bit, so to that end, I’ve started walking outside on my lunches. I’ve done it a few times already, but today I fired up the imapmyrun app (i map my run) on my iphone and tracked how far it actually is that I’m walking. I’m really surprised; it’s close to 2 miles (2 laps, that is). I actually just discovered a little walking path to take that may increase it up to 2 miles even going forward. It still sounds weird to me, “oh yeah, I squeezed in a 2 mile walk during my lunch hour”, that sounds like something that a fitness-obsessed person would say, not a “regular guy” like me. I guess it’s going to take a while to get used to looking at myself in a different light. I’m just doing it because every little bit helps, and an extra 10 miles a week can’t be a bad thing, even if it is only walking. I refuse to even try to run it, there’s no way I could go back into the office after that. Not if I wanted anybody to come within 15 feet of me, anyway…

Looking ahead, my next run is week 4, run 3, and the sadistic bastards that made up this program are screwing with the system and ratcheting up the workout again. This is a break from the norm, it used to be run 1,2,3 of any given week were all the same, and then it kicked up for the next week. Now they are increasing the runs each time out instead of giving me a week to get used to it. Bastards. Yes, it will help me in the long run, but this is most likely going to suck. Time to toughen up and just get on with it, I guess…

One last quick note: So since the last time I posted, the hit counter that tracks how many times the site has been viewed finally clicked over and exceeded 1,000. (total views since I started this blog, that is) That is amazingly awesome. It’s just another way to make me realize all the support I’m getting. Thanks again y’all. Even if quitting WAS an option (which it clearly is not, and never will be) I’m going to have to keep going now, just to make sure I don’t let anybody down…

One response to “Continued Success / This Is Really Getting Hard / Upping My Game

  1. As noted in Facebook, I signed up last night to run 3.1 miles in the frigid cold at the cost of $35!!!!! You better be a good date. keep it going, it only gets easier….well not really.

Leave a Reply

