Slow Progress / Run Kicked My Ass / Geeky Tech Diversion

Workout #15 (C25K Week 2, Run 2)

Weight: 307.8/ # of days till 5K: 52 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 313

Down a little bit. I’ll take it. I like progress, no matter how small. It’s only been 2 days so I wasn’t expecting miracles here. We’ll see how the end of week numbers look. I feel like I’m kind of settling into a groove here with my daily patterns. I’m a creature of habit when it comes to breakfast and lunches, basically the same thing every day. I like it, so I’m sticking to it. The dinners are where it seems to get hairy for me. It’s not that they are so much “bad”, I mean I just about always end up right at or below my calorie count for the day, but more often than not, it’s late. Eating at 9 or 9:30 is not uncommon, and I know it’s not good, but until I figure out how to do more in the limited time I have at night, that’s the way it’s gonna be I guess. Also, the month-long holiday party extravaganza is almost over. All I have to do is get through the actual holidays themselves, and as long as I keep up the momentum I’ll be ok. Just a few more family gatherings to get through without “grazing” all the fat I just lost right back onto my ass and I’ll be in the clear.

The run was challenging. This is a nice way of saying it sucked. I actually felt relatively good with everything: the speed was good (inched it up again, now I’m at 3.4 walking and 5.4 running), the incline was ok, my breathing is getting much better…just for some reason it was really kicking my ass tonight. I continued my usual routine of running out the last walk and extending the cooldown walk from 5 min to 10. I was fine after it was all said and done, but man did I not want to be on that treadmill tonight. I think it’s a combo of stress, tiredness, holiday shopping, etc. all hanging over my head tonight. Whatever, I made it through and felt a little better about everything once I sweat it out.

One more topic I wanted to touch on tonight, (and letting my completely geeky side come out) I got the little Nike+ chippy thing for my shoe and the watch/receiver to go with it (thanks for the recommendation Uncle Mario, it’s really damn cool) For those of you who are not familiar, the Nike+ system is a little chip that fits into the sole of your shoe (or attaches to your shoe in a little pouch, if you don’t have the special Nike shoes that are made to take it) and it measures how far you run, your pace, calories burned, time spent running, etc. It basically takes all the information that makes running on a treadmill so attractive and gives it to you whenever you are running outside, on a track, etc. I started using it last week when I began C25K, and I’ve been uploading all my run info to the Nike+ website. It’s cool to see the displays of all my runs and watch the totals grow. As of tonight, my total miles run hit 10M. 10 miles for a 300+ pound guy. Not too shabby. There is a Nike+ app already built into most ipod touches, ipod nanos, and iphones, but I wanted to get the watch because with the Nike app, the C25K app, and the iMapMyRun app all running, the battery is sucked dry in no time. Overkill? Maybe. But’s that’s me, take it or leave it. Plus, you can’t take the ipod with you in races, and once I progress past the C25K I lose the run/walk aspect and start getting into running plans that have me running for distance, not time and I am hoping to lose the chunky iphone and switch over to my little clip on iPod shuffle. The whole reason I have the phone with the app now is that it has the timer to tell me when to run and walk, since it alternates so much during these workouts. Plus the likelihood of me somehow dropping the phone and breaking it is really high, based on how clumsy I am. So for my purposes: tiny rubber watch good, big glass iphone bad.

Going to pass out now. Talk to you again on Friday.

Leave a Reply

