Gradual Improvement/ Adding a Little More to the Mix

Workout #13 (C25K Week 1, Run 2)

Weight: 313.8/ # of days till 5K: 59 days / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 318

Maintained the same weight. That is a great thing.  I was convinced that I was going to float back up a bit because I ate irresponsibly today. If the entire process of counting the calories I am taking in has taught me anything, it’s that this part of the weight loss is really hinged on information and preparedness. (and logical thinking, but if you’re anything like me, that’s a 50/50 game at best…) I had a work lunch with a few members of my team and a few members of a team from a different company that we routinely work with. It’s really not an uncommon practice in my line of work, get out to see your business partners face to face, talk a little work, talk a little personal, go to lunch. It’s all about building the relationship and in the process, selling yourself and making as good an impression as possible, Anyway, I digress… The drawback to that is, (in today’s case) I didn’t know where we were going until 5 min before we were leaving, and I had no time to research which choices would be good and which would be bad. Needless to say, I chose poorly. I read: eggplant sandwich with cheese and tomato sauce. it should have said: cheese sandwich with fried eggplant and cheese with a side of cheese. It was delicious, but I now have enough calories left for a salad, at best. Not terrible, but I REALLY could have spread things out better. I just have to be a little better prepared whenever possible and use my head a little better.

As for the run, I am starting to see how this whole running program thing works. I felt better today than I did on Monday. It’s a good feeling, and I am building stamina and confidence with each run. I am still fully aware of how far out of shape I am, but I’m definitely on the road to changing that, so all good for now in my mind; I know I can’t rush this process, just have to take it as it comes. I’d prefer it be faster but I’m not going to be stupid, rush things and go hurting myself. That would defeat the entire purpose of doing this in the first place. Since I felt comfortable at the same settings I had for Monday, I decided to up them, just a little bit, to see how my body would react. bumped it up from 3.0 to 3.2 for the walk speed and 5.0 to 5.2 for the run speed, and set the incline to 1 on the treadmill. It was definitely harder but I made it through ok, was still able to run out the last “walk”, and felt good afterwards. Odds are if I’m feeling good on Friday I may inch it up a little again. Actually looking forward to it. I never thought in a million years I would ever look forward to working out. Crazy.

I’ve decided to up the ante a little more as well. On my days off from running I am looking to start 2 things. The first being a weekend walk. With 2 days off and the new week of the running program always starting on mondays (I run Mon-Wed-Fri), I’m thinking it might be a good idea to just be out and moving a little bit to keep it fresh. Nothing insane, just a good walk. Once the weather gets nice in the spring I think it will be an awesome thing to be able to do with the family, but for now I’m thinking it will be me freezing solo out there. The second thing I am looking to do is start building up my upper body strength as well. I may start with trying to work my way into doing 100 push ups. There’s a program/app for that as well, and it seems like it will be something that will be (just like the running) a slow, gradual process to build me up and set me up for success. Plus, it would be a big confidence booster if I had some decent muscles in these arms… I’ll do some research on it and see how it goes.

Ok, happy hump day everybody. I’m off to hang with Jenn for a while and then hit the bed.

Leave a Reply

