Back Out There/ Damn That Hurts

Workout #9 (Week 3, Run 1- FINALLY completed)

Weight: 318.8 / # of days to 5K: 68 / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 327

Alright so I’m down a little bit and by little I mean LITTLE, but hey I’ll take what I can get. The moral of that story is a that 2 weeks ago I was 10 pounds heavier than I am now and I keep moving the right direction so what the hell, I’ll take it. On a side note, I started the my fitness pal app today so I’m counting calories. When you think about it makes perfect sense: if you’re putting out more than you’re taking in you lose weight. Again, sounds simple. But we’ll see.

So now on to the run. I took yesterday off because again I was listening to my body and my legs still really hurt. REALLY hurt. Although I felt much better today and figured I would test it to see how far I could go. So I stretched real good, began to run and I actually started off really well through the first lap. Really heavy breathing after, much heavier than I feel like I should be doing at the end of a three-quarter run of a lap around a quarter-mile track.

I do have to admit getting checked out has taken on a new priority because almost immediately after I started to run all the pain that had gone away over the weekend started to come back. (calling tomorrow) A very little bit at first but as the four laps went on let me just tell you it was freaking agony by the end. The breathing I can get back under control by the time I cool down/get home. I’ll still be breathing a little hard, but nothing out of control, it’s the leg pain that is what’s lingering at this point. I mean, let’s be honest: it does make perfect sense to me. Let’s not lose sight of the fact that I still weigh almost 320 pounds. That’s a hell of a lot of weight for my knees and legs to handle especially when I’m trying to move this big ass body at a pace faster than a walk.
Conversely, let’s also not lose sight of the fact that I am approx. 320 pounds and I ran 3/4 of a mile for the first time ever. It was really rough, but I did it god dammit. Booyaa. Not sure of the price I’m going to pay for finishing yet, but I pushed through. Very proud of myself, very sore, but very proud.

One last note. Holy Shit, I am absolutely overwhelmed by the outpouring of support that I’ve received over the past 2 days. I “went public” with the blog yesterday. For the first time I really opened it up to all of my family and friends and I (again) was met with an amazing response. so much more than I could have anticipated. I don’t want to get all sappy, but I am a very lucky guy. Thank you all. For real, you are all badass.

One response to “Back Out There/ Damn That Hurts

  1. you’re the shit and an inspiration. love you lots!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

