Blessing & A Curse / Night of Firsts

Workout #6  (Week 2, Run 3)

Weight: 324.4 / # of days to 5K: 75 / # of days till the Tough Mudder: 334

As always, I’ll start with a brief comment about the weight. Yes, I gained, but I am taking this one as a moral victory. I gained less than a pound  since I was last weighed, and last week  ate two, count them two thanksgiving dinners. The first was on the actual Thanksgiving day, and I’ve already talked about that, so I won’t go into it again, and the second was on Saturday at my parents house. Since my siblings and I are all scattered on the actual day of thanksgiving, it’s become our tradition to all get together on the following Saturday and have our own Thanksgiving. It’s actually a great day, we all get together, spend the day, eat a huge meal, and decorate the Christmas tree that my mom has ready and waiting for us when we get there. She is one of those people who love Christmas. I mean LOVES it. but I’ll digress because I could go on at length about that, and that’s not what I’m here to do tonight.

The run. It was a night of firsts for me. So I decided to listen to my body and take 2 days off between runs.  This was a blessing and a curse. The blessing came when I ran the first 1/2 of the first lap and felt awesome. It was actually the first time that I ran through one of the “running portions” of my run and actually felt good and really confident I could do it. As always, things declined from there, but I am seeing slight improvements each time, and that is amazingly encouraging, no matter how slow the progress is coming. (listen to me, I talk like I’m a seasoned veteran here. believe me, I have not lost sight of the fact that I’ve only been doing this for 2 weeks thus far). The next first (and Curse) came when I got my first set of cramps. Holy crap that was a shock to the system. My leg cramped up something fierce, I was able to run through it, but my god did that hurt. Still does, I’m sitting here feeling sorry for myself and rubbing my leg as I type this. I also got a big stitch in my side. I’m guessing this could be from a number of things. I ate an enormous lunch (which I obviously should not have done), and I got all caught up in work today and did not drink the water I usually do, and let’s not forget I am pushing myself on a regular basis, and have not worked out in years. (if we’re being honest)

I am still taking massive amounts of pride in finishing the run and doing exactly what I was supposed to do. I didn’t half ass it, and when it got hard, I pushed through and finished it.

Looking ahead, I am scared shitless about Wednesday’s run, because it’s when I bump up to running 3/4 of a lap and walking 1/4. I look at that, I know it’s only a little bit farther, but I’m still not sure how I’m going to pull that off. Oh well, only one way to find out.

So I’m deciding to go all in here. Given the time of year, I have been getting the obligatory questions from my relatives/parents/ in-laws about what I want for Christmas. Everything I ask for is going to be running/ fitness related for two reasons. One, if I have all the coolest toys (like the Nike+ sensor and watch, a new pair of shoes, miscellaneous gear like tights, new shorts, tech shirts, etc…) I will stay all fired up even longer. It’s just the way it is. I know me, and I know that is the truth; and two, all that stuff (which I would probably end up getting anyway) is all freaking expensive.

Not to mention,this affords me the opportunity to “gear up” the way I want: I’ve always been a really matchy-matchy kind of guy, so my white and blue shoes will match my blue shirt and bandana or hat, black tights, shorts, and under armour shirt will match my black vest, etc…Hey, I freely admit I’m a dork. I am that guy that the “true veterans” in the gym LOVE to make fun of, because I look like I just went out and tried to buy my way into people thinking that I’ve been doing this for a long time. Screw it, I’m gonna be me, and if that means I’m all matched up and some salty old runners snicker at it, so be it.

Ok, enough rambling for tonight. Off to watch some DVR’d tv with J and then hit the bed.

Leave a Reply

