Well that was a big tease/ Stupid stupid stupid

Workout #3

Weight 326.8/ # of days till 5K: 82/ # of days till the Tough Mudder: 341

Two part post:

Big Tease- So I ran outside again today. The circle near my house was just SO much easier than driving to the gym. Plus, the novelty of running in the cold air has not worn off on me yet. Still loving that. So I begin the run, and get through the first “running leg” of the first lap, and I am feeling pretty awesome. Huffing and puffing, yes, but thinking that I’ve got this handled. I pretty much had my breath back by the time I walked out the remainder of the first lap and then confidently went into my second lap. A little worse, but still manageable. Things went downhill from there. I made the final the final two laps, ran out the running legs and then walked the remainder just like I was supposed to, but those two looked all too much like day #1. It was not pretty, but I got it done. I’m claiming this one as a victory for myself. So that makes it Big Andy 3/ Road 0 (although an honarable mention has to go to the treadmill for throwing my ass across the gym). Still going, getting stronger. Don’t get me wrong, I still feel like I’m going to set my lungs on fire and I’m a sweaty mess from running what amounts 1/4 of a mile and walking 3/4 of a mile, but I’m feeling really encouraged and kind of badass. Hell to the Yeah.

Stupid Stupid Stupid- Ok, so I know this goes against my usual mantra of over preparation/ planning, but I was just “eyeballing” how far a quarter of each lap around the circle was. After my run I decided that I was a glutton for punishment and when I got home I grabbed the dog and headed out for one more leisurely lap around the circle. On a whim I whipped out the imapmyrun app on my iPhone so I could see exactly where the distances I should be hitting were so I could do it right going forward. I was honestly thinking that I would just pick out the 1/2 and 3/4 lap spots for future reference. Boy was I surprised. So yeah, my “1/4 lap” was actually just a few yards shy of 1/2 of a lap. Son of a bitch, that certainly would have made things easier. So I guess I lied, I’ve been running too far this whole time, which explains why it’s been kicking me in the ass so badly. But screw it, I’m not backing off…This will be my week one, and for week two I’ll just up it a little to cover the actual half lap that I’m supposed to.

Week one workouts are completed, and I’m completely humbled and encouraged, all at the same time. It’s going to be a bitch, but I might just be able to pull this off…

I’m off to go hang out with Jenn for an hour or so and then pass out.

Leave a Reply

