Well, that wasn’t pretty…

Ok, first workout.

weight 328.8/ # of days till 5K: 85/ # of days till the Tough Mudder: 344

We got Tess to sleep between 7:30 and 8, and I broke out my spankin’ new running shoes, got all dressed and headed out to the gym. I felt fantastic walking in, and took up a brisk walk to warm up. Ok, no problems, this is going to be easy. Not so fast there bucko. I started to get into the meat and potatoes of the workout, alternating running and walking, and when you begin the 4 weeks to 1 mile program, it has you walking MUCH more than you are running, but holy shit, I needed that. I was never a boy scout, but you know how they are supposed to be able to make a fire out in the wilderness just from the friction of rubbing two sticks together? Yeah, well, it felt like that was going on in my chest, except the two sticks were replaced by air and my lungs. Oh, and wait, there’s more… I was that guy. So there I am, about 3/4 of the way through my mile of pain. Kind of a shock to the system to my body but I’m managing. next thing I know, I feel my right foot slide a little bit when it hits the treadmill track, and after a few heavy stomps later trying (and failing) to get back my balance…down goes Frazier. I was not hurt, well, only my pride, and I was able to get up, dust myself off, pick up my phone and headphones from the surrounding area and get right back on that bitch. Although, you might be interested to know that a standard issue health club treadmill going at approx 5.2 has enough force to send a 330 pound man flying backwards at a pretty good clip. But I finished it out, did my mile and then some to compensate for the time it took for the treadmill to slow down while I was on my ass, and then took the next 10-15 min to compose myself/catch my breath. Like I said, it wasn’t pretty, but it’s done. Gotta go up from here, right? At least I got a story out of it. All in all, I’m encouraged and feel great, i think it’s 90% mental and 10% physical at this point, but I’ll take what I can get. Going to try again tomorrow. Should be interesting. I did drive 4 laps around the one circle in my neighborhood just out of sheer curiosity and it turns out its 1/4 mile per lap, so that’s convenient for me, now I have a “track” right outside my door. Maybe I’ll hit that up for tomorrow’s run/walk. All right, I have to go to bed now, since Tessa gets up at 6:30am more days than not. So I need to get some sleep, because she’s ready to go as soon as she gets up, and I need to be on my game. Goodnight.

 

Leave a Reply

