Good News / Bad News

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times… Ok, not really that dramatic, but I do have really great and some pretty crappy news to share at the same time. Rather than doing it in two seperate, polar opposite posts (one super upbeat one and then one super down one) I am just going to roll them together here.

Good News first:

So the Sweet Cheeks Virtual 5K is completed for another year, and it has yet again been a rousing success.

Again this year I have exceeded expectations and while I don’t have the final numbers yet in terms of the final profit/ donation to The American Cancer Society, I do know it wil be well over $1000 and I do know for certain I exceeded my initial projections. (again. for the second year in a row. I apparently need to get more aggressive in my goal setting for these)

We finishedin the triple digits in terms of runners and the times have been pouring in all weekend. Thank you all for participating. Once this is all wrapped up,I am taking some time off from planning the virtuals. After organizing 2 basically back to back it’s time to turn the focus 100% onto my training and the blog- which by the way will have a major announcement coming inthe next day or so.

and now , it doesn’t happen often, but I’m afraid I have to share a bit of bad news here.

I am all for setting aggressive goals. I’m also all for getting creative and stretching your time to accommodate these goals as well. But there is a line, and sometimes, even when you have the best intentions and are doing genuinely worthwhile things, that line gets crossed. Bite off more than you can chew, have your mouth write checks that your ass can’t cash, whatever you want to call it the idea is the same. I have officially reached that point now.

So while I genuinely love the role of run coach and being on the volunteer committee for the American Cancer Society, I have realized that there are just literally not enough hours in the day to do everything that I want to do in my running world while still being the father, husband, and friend that meets the standards that I hold myself to in my “real life responsibilities”  

I realized this as I was filling out the calendar for the month and until I had a visual it didn’t really sink in the sheer volume of time that’s going to be accounted for by my various exploits. It’s also one of those gradual things where I did not realize how deep into something I was getting until I took a step back and looked at everything as a whole. Continuing along this path, while certainly noble would mean stepping back from other things that I am just not willing to do. It became painfully evident that something had to get cut from the schedule, and unfortunately my run coaching and committee volunteer duties are what made the most sense to me to go.

I’m still going to run for the charity, and most likely always will. I’m still going to have a team of runners to do with me. But I’m simply running out of resources and will not be able to uphold the responsibilities of being a committee member and coach in addition to all this. I am massively honored and proud to be a included as a part of this committee, but I’m also not too proud to admit when I’ve made a mistake and overcommitted myself.

I know I keep going on about it, but the truth is that I feel embarrassed and feel like I am letting some people down. While this is certainly not the first time that I’ve overextended myself in general, it is the first time I’ve done it in this new fitness world of mine (where I  responsible both for myself and for assisting others). I feel like I should’ve known better but I can’t go back and change things now. I got very excited and caught up in the prospect of being on the committee and serving as a coach, thought I could pull it off and it turns out that I was wrong. And while I feel embarrassed, that really only goes so far. When push comes to shove my family and those closest to me come first. They have to. I can’t compromise time with them for anything else. End of discussion.

So while i’m still proud to continue my involvement with ACS/determination, I will just have to settle for running for the charity, bringing in new people by organizing a team to run every year, and being a very vocal and outspoken supporter.  Let’s go DNation Philly!

So there it is. Good News and Bad News for this update. Stay tuned for a Sweet Cheeks Recap post, My first Triathlon Training post, and a pretty aewsome announcement regarding me and the blog, all coming this week. Booyaa.  It’s going to be a bsy week for me.

9 responses to “Good News / Bad News

  1. We all have times in our lives where we get excited and take on more than we bargained for. Be proud that you are able to do the things that you are able to do, and don’t be embarrassed for a second that you cannot do everything. It was a valiant effort, but you are right, you have to make priorities in life. Your family and obligations come first. Good job with all of your goals so far, you are doing a great job. This is something that you will learn from and maybe in the future you will be able to accomplish this goal, just not right this second :)

  2. I’m sorry but I completely understand! Keep up the good!

  3. Don’t be so hard on yourself! At the end of the day, family has to come first. You’re still giving so much of yourself to ACS/DeTermination by being a runner/fundraiser. Nice work!

  4. You are still a total badass!

  5. Family first. Alway. You do what you have to do and do not feel guilty about it. Nice job on the fundraising!

  6. Sometimes ya gotta let something go but you’re smart and figured it out before things started fallin off your plate. I love you’re good news though!

  7. Good thoughts and best choice.

  8. While it would have been awesome to have you as a coach, you’re leading by example in putting what is truly important first. There is no shame in that. Looking forward to running with you in May! (or, really, chasing you…I might die running at your pace!)

  9. We all have times in our lives where we are in this exact situation. Dont be so hard on yourself, you made the right choice.

    http://runningschlub.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

