Announcing The “Sweet Cheeks Virtual 5K”!

So here we are! I am very proud to announce the Sweet Cheeks Virtual 5K!

Sweet Cheeks Banner

RegisterNowbutton3

Based on the amazing success of last year’s “Chilly Cheeks Virtual 5K”, I’m back at it again for 2014! Same Idea, Same Charity Beneficiary, Same “Running My Ass Off”-Themed Name….

For all the details: Please refer to this insanely helpful FAQ:

SO WHAT EXACTLY IS A VIRTUAL 5K, ANYWAY? Ok, so here’s the deal. A virtual 5K is a race just like any other, except there’s no official race location. You register for the race and then you run during the designated race weekend: when you want, where you want; and then just submit the results when you’re done (on the convenient online form that I’ll send out). All the results will be complied and sent out to all participants after the race is over. Any pictures or stories to accompany your official time are encouraged as well!

WHEN IS IT?: The official race weekend is Friday, Feb 14 thru Sunday, Feb 16.

WHAT DO I DO?: Like I said above, in order to participate, all you need to do is register for the race, run it at any point during the weekend of Feb 14-16, and then submit your results. (Along with any pictures or stories about the experience you’d like to share)

WHAT DO I GET/ WHAT’S IN IT FOR ME?: Every race participant gets an official Sweet Cheeks 5K finisher’s medal. That, plus the satisfaction of knowing that the vast majority of your entry fee is being donated directly to charity; so all your sweat and effort is not only doing you good, but others as well.

IS THAT ALL?: No it’s not! All entries also get entered into a random drawing to win some pretty awesome prizes! See the complete list of giveaways below. I know I’m biased, but I think they are some pretty badass prizes.

SO HOW MUCH DOES THIS COST? All this for the low low price of $25.00!

HOW DO I SIGN UP?: All you need to do is click on the “Register Now” button above. It links directly to Paypal, to guarantee that the transaction is safe and secure for you.

WHAT IF I CAN’T RUN, BUT WANT TO DONATE ANYWAY? Well thank you! And we have a button for that too! If you want to donate but not run in the race, please click on the “Donate Now” button below. It will take you to a PayPal screen that will allow you to choose the amount you would like to donate and allow you to do it safely.

DONATENOW2_150_wide1

WHAT IS THIS FOR, ANYWAY?: All monetary profits from this race will be donated directly to the American Cancer Society through their DetermiNation program. See below for a more detailed explanation of what’s going on here…

This race is going to be used as a fundraiser for The American Cancer Society and Charity Miles.

Print everymilematters

For the second year in a row, I have created a charity team to run The Blue Cross Broad Street Run in Philadelphia (this year it is being held on Sunday, May 4th)

We are a team of 15 runners who all signed up to run Broad Street in 2014 . This race is one of the biggest 10 mile races in the country. Rather than just register for the race and run it, we are using this opportunity to link up with the American Cancer Society and use this as a fundraiser as well (The official charity partner of the race). We have joined their DetermiNation program, And have set an initial team goal of $7,500 to be raised between the group of us running. We want to challenge ourselves by running the race, and also to give a little back at the same time. We are dedicated to meeting -and with any luck-, far surpassing our initial goal of funds to be donated to this worthwhile cause. Cancer is a horrible and far reaching disease that continues to impact countless people, odds are you or someone you know has to deal with this reality. We are just trying to do our part and help fix that as best we can.

To further prove my point about really getting on board with the charitable efforts, we are also partnering up with Charity Miles, and I could not be more excited about it.

Let me explain. Charity Miles is a free iPhone/android smartphone app that uses your phone’s gps to track your run/walk/bike ride. This NYC based company (Charity Miles) is dedicated to raising money to be donated to charity, at the rate of $0.25/ mile run (or walked) They have secured corporate partners who are willing to donate money to any one of a multitude of “approved charities’ (identified in the app) based on the amount of miles run/walked/biked. They designed the app specifically to track everything and keep it all legit. I discovered them about a year ago and have been using the app ever since. I love it and the fact that A.) it does not cost me anything to use it and B.) even though it’s free, it still puts me in a position to raise funds for charity and make a difference. I love donating other people’s money.(ha) I know I don’t give it full justice, but suffice it to say this is a way to leverage the running you will be out there doing anyway to generate some funds and make a real impact. You can find their main website HERE. We are strongly encouraging all of The Sweet Cheeks Virtual 5K participants to use it while they run the race. Instead of getting only my 3.1 miles, if we can get everybody’s 3.1 it can add up quick and make a huge difference.

I hope you consider running with us for this Virtual 5K race.

Feel free to contact me with any questions: bigandysrunning@yahoo.com

Here are the companies providing giveaways we have thus far (I’m working hard to add some more as we speak, as more get added I’ll post them up here):

Road ID logo

   

spibelt-logo-cat

9 responses to “Announcing The “Sweet Cheeks Virtual 5K”!

  1. Am I allowed to walk, and run as much as I can while walking? I am just getting back into this and this will be my first race since 2009.

  2. Pingback: Starting over… again! | get it together mom

  3. Just wondering where we submit our results after we run the 5K?

    • I’ll be sending out an email this week to all the participants, but after the race weekend is over I will email out an online time entry form for everyone to complete and submit thier results. I’m trying to make it as easy as possible for everyone.

  4. Is it too late to enter today? If not, can I enter a 5 mile run, with splits, from yesterday? I was supposed to do a 5K but wound up a running a 5 mile loop instead. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Sunday Running | Save the Treats for the Dog

  6. Pingback: Save the Treats for the Dog

Leave a Reply

